My Subject: Creative Writing and Journalism: Databases and Literature Searching

Finding Resources: Summary

Use Library Search to find articles, books, reports, DVDs, CDs and more.

Use Cite them right for Harvard referencing. Here is a link to a 'sample text and reference list using the Harvard style'.

Use your online reading list.

Drama Online for play texts, books and audio-visual resources

Drama Online is an online collection of full-text plays from Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare and Faber, as well over 100 full-text books providing critical analysis and contextual information.

Drama Online This link opens in a new window Description: A collection of over 1000 plays drawn from the Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare and Faber lists, plus over 100 scholarly works providing critical analysis and contextual information. Date Range: N/A Subject Scope: Plays range from classics to contemporary writing. Full Text: Yes

BBC Archives

BBC Shakespeare Archive This link opens in a new window Over 1000 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets, including content for primary and secondary schools. The first time you access this you will be asked to register - please user your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).
BBC Literary Archive This link opens in a new window Over 1000 programmes from the BBC’s archive of literary adaptations, performances and critiques. The first time you access this you will be asked to register - please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).

Online Encyclopædia

Britannica (Encyclopedia) This link opens in a new window Description: 100,000 professionally edited and researched articles on just about every subject, thesaurus & dictionary of quotations, links to 800,000 full-text journal and magazine articles plus full text E-books and primary sources, World Data Analyst (current and past statistics and interactive World Atlas) and automatic citations at the end of articles.

Databases

Databases are collections of publications such as journal articles. They are current and contain the latest research on a topic.
Full-text databases provide direct access to the complete article.
Library Search searches all the databases we subscribe to at Middlesex University.
You can search the databases separately if you wish, details of relevant resources for English and writing are below:

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Description: Humanities International Complete provides full text for over 1200 journals, together with books and other published sources from around the world. It also contains all the data from Humanities International Index providing indexing and abstracting for over 2000 journals. Much of its full-text content is not found in other databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Description: Archive of journals Subject Scope: Language and literature, mathematics, statistics, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Please note: Middlesex University Library does not subscribe to the whole of JSTOR but only to the "Arts & Sciences III" and "Mathematics and Statistics" collections.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window Description: Research journals from Oxford University Press in the fields of Life Science, Medicine, Mathematics and Physical Sciences, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law.
Proquest One Literature This link opens in a new window A database for literary research incorporating all of Literature Online (LION), 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works including rare and hard to find texts, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos including theatre performances, and 20,000 ebooks.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Description: Searches articles within over 630 journals published by Sage. Subject Scope: Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine. Date Range: Full Text: Full text availability to a large number of Sage journals.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window An extensive collection of online journals.

Proquest One Literature

Proquest One Literature provides access to full text journals, historic criticism, dissertations, ebooks, primary works (poetry, drama and prose), video and audio, and reference works. It offers an international and interdisciplinary perspective on literary topics with sources from all over the world. Includes work by black playwriters and authors.

Proquest One Literature This link opens in a new window A database for literary research incorporating all of Literature Online (LION), 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works including rare and hard to find texts, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos including theatre performances, and 20,000 ebooks.

Newspapers from Global Newsstream

Global Newsstream allows you to search and access the full text of the main UK newspapers (Financial Times, Times, Guardian, Telegraph etc), and some European, Asian, Middle Eastern, US, Latin American and Austrialian newspapers.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window The first time that you access FT.com using this link you will be asked to register - Please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).

Problems accessing our electronic resources

Sometimes you may experience problems accessing our electronic resources.

Have a look at our troubleshooting guide for help.

Accessing electronic resources