Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biomedical ethics and law
BEN (BiosciEdNet) Portal
A digital library portal for biological sciences Managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 17,071 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available.
BioMed Central author academy
Useful guidelines on writing and publishing a scientific paper.
BioMed Central microbiology and infectious diseases gateway
This free gateway contains content and resources from journals and sites published by BioMed Central, of interest to researchers.
BloodMed is an online resource for haematology education, practice and research which is published and made available on the Web by Blackwell Publishing. It provides summaries of key papers selected by the editors, regular reviews from top journals in the field, a slide atlas of images, peer-reviewed articles summarising hot topics written specially for BloodMed.com, current clinical guidelines and news updates.
Control of Substances Hazardous to Health (COSHH)
This website provides practical advice and Guidance on the HSE's Control of Substances Hazardous to Health Regulations 2002. You can find information on what the law requires, advice on completing COSHH assessments.
Discovering genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics
This website refers to a textbook written by A. Malcolm Campbell and Laurie J. Heyer (2006) and describes a course which students can take at the Department of Biology, Davidson College, North Carolina. The site has a link to all of the figures that appear in the textbook (viewable by chapter) and it lists assignments and lab methods. The course covers DNA sequence analysis in hereditary disease diagnosis, genomics and genome sequencing, comparative genomics in evolution and medicine, genomic variation and single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs), ethical consequences of genomic variation, weight homeostasis, use of DNA microarrays in research, proteomics and 3D structure and whole genome perspectives on disease.
Genomics & Proteomics (Natural Standard)
Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed, tapping into the collective expertise of a multidisciplinary Editorial Board.
Hardin MD - infectious diseases / bacterial diseases / microbiology
A directory of websites, images and resources for those interested in medical microbiology.
Helicobacter pylori - physiology and genetics
A comprehensive text on the physiology and genetics of the bacterial species H.Pylori. Originally published in 2001 by the American Society of Microbiology.
HemeTeam : interactive hematology
HemeTeam is an interactive companion to the study of haematology, which aims to provide basic information on the subject and to facilitate self-directed learning. It aims to help students grasp the general principles of diagnosis and treatment of common blood disorders and the underlying disease mechanisms, and to promote continuing medical education. Its six sections cover common problems, case studies, haematopoiesis, diseases of blood formation (erythrocytes, stem cells, lymphocytes), bleeding and clotting, and targeted therapy. Multiple choice questions are included. HemeTeam is described as "work in progress" and is produced by Peter R. Galbraith, Emeritus Professor at Queen's University, Kingston.
Howard Hughes Medical Institute virtual labs
The HHMI virtual labs are fully interactive biomedical laboratory simulations and include a bacterial identification lab, a cardiology lab, a neurophysiology lab, an immunology lab, and a transgenic fly virtual lab.
Learn.Genetics - Genetic Science Resource Center
Developed by the University of Utah, this is a great resource designed to deliver educational materials on genetics, bioscience and health topics to students, teachers and the public in a jargon-free style.
Much of the site uses animation and interactive tools to explain concepts, including virtual labs where you can practice laboratory techniques and tools.
A comprehensive microbiology textbook aimed specifically at students and infectious disease scientists. The focus of this book is the mechanisms and principles of medical microbiology. Originally published by the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.
Medical content including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, news
An informative resource from the American Society for Microbiology providing news items, podcasts, and articles on microbes in the news.
Microbial life educational resources
A useful resource providing free access to a variety of educational and supporting materials for students and teachers of microbiology.
Microbiology and immunology on-line
An online internet textbook covering all aspects of microbiology and immunology. Chapters cover immunology, bacteriology, mycology, virology, infectious diseases and parasitology. Made available by the School of Medicine, University of South Carolina.
A useful resource for Post 16 students studying microbiology. Produced and made available by the Society for General Microbiology (SGM).
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease
Online microbiology lectures for medical students
An extensive collection of online lectures provided by the School of Medicine, University of South Carolina. These microbiology lectures cover immunology, parasitology, bacteriology, virology, and mycology. There are more than 100 lectures and they can be viewed as slideshows or downloaded as MP3 audio files.
A social network for scientists
The bad bug book
A regularly updated handbook of facts regarding food borne pathogenic microorganisms and natural toxins. Provided by the FDA/Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition.
The big picture book of viruses
A useful catalogue of virus images which can be browsed by virus name (individual and families) and by structure/genome.
The Biology Project
An interactive online resource for biology learning.
The National Academies Press (NAP): biology and life sciences
An extensive collection of free online books and reports provided by NAP on a range of biological and life science subjects.
Learn how to make discerning use of the Internet to find information for coursework, literature reviews or personal research.
The following tutorials are written, reviewed and regularly updated by a national team of UK university lecturers and librarians with the aim of supporting students, lecturers and researchers in UK higher education.
Comparative Health statistics