My Subject: Product Design and Design Engineering: Researching the Marketplace

Resources

The library provides access to a range of online resources that you can use to find good quality market and business intelligence, skills, marketing campaigns, trends, and industry standards. See links below plus links to open access resources and a guide to help you use them.

Library resources:

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window Middlesex University has access to a Custom Collection of up to 300 British Standards. Please contact the Science & Technology librarians (SATLibrarian@mdx.ac.uk) to request full-text access to Standards not currently in our subscription.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Description: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window An excellent collection of industry research reports
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)

Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.
Mintel This link opens in a new window Mintel contains marketing intelligence reports, trend analysis and market size information for a wide range of industries and across several countries. It is particularly strong for sector information in European and American countries.
Passport This link opens in a new window Description: Passport provides key business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It will be useful to students studying a wide range of areas including international business and marketing, economics, social science, travel and tourism, international hospitality management, international relations & environmental health.
WARC This link opens in a new window Description: World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) combines current new thinking and trends with best practice, featuring access to over 6,000 award-winning case studies, in-depth trend analysis, and research reports. Established in 1985, WARC combines its own content with that of respected industry partners worldwide and provides detailed solutions to real marketing challenges.
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window Description: Worth Global Style Network Interiors is an online trend forecasting and product design tool for the industrial design, home and interiors market across 16 product categories, including furniture, lighting, textiles, interiors, garden design Subject Scope: Interiors, product design, packaging, textiles, marketing, trends, forecasting, business strategy, trade news, trade shows Date Range: Current

Open access resources:

British Library Business and IP Centre Help and support for entrepreneurs and innovators to launch, run and develop a business.
Trendhunter Trendhunter is the world’s largest trend community fuelled by a global network of 200,000 contributors and updated daily with curated content including ideas, insights and trend reports.

Guide to using resources:

Guide

The following organisations offer free support and help to entrepreneurs including access to quality business resources: