Skip to Main Content
Film and TV
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) This link opens in a new window
The first time you use this you will have to sign in with your Middlesex email address.
Description: BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service we subscribe to. BoB enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Films online via the Kanopy streaming service. Content includes: Popular documentaries, Oscar winners and nominees, classic films, short films and independent films.
BBC Literary Archive This link opens in a new window
Over 1000 programmes from the BBC’s archive of literary adaptations, performances and critiques. The first time you access this you will be asked to register - please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).
BBC Shakespeare Archive This link opens in a new window
Over 1000 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets, including content for primary and secondary schools. The first time you access this you will be asked to register - please user your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Description: Naxos Music Library is a digital sound database streaming music to listeners in near-CD sound quality. The world's largest classical music library, it currently contains 51,574 discs and 741,214 tracks. Over 800 CDs are added to the library every month. NML also includes detailed background and composer notes, complete texts of opera libretti and other reference material.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new window
Description: Naxos Music Library Jazz provides online access to a substantial collection of jazz albums with music streamed in near-CD quality. It includes albums on the Naxos Jazz label and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Artists represented include some of the great names in jazz: Miles Davis, Bill Evans, John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, Cannonball Adderley, Duke Ellington and many more. There are currently over 3800 albums, 45,000 tracks to listen to.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Description: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Based on the 10-volume printed Encyclopedia published 1998-2002, it contains over 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, and includes entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.
Subject Scope: All aspects of world music.
Date Range: N/A
Full Text: Yes
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Description: Grove Music Online is the leading online resource for music research and includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition, 2002), with all subsequent updates. It includes more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.
Archival Sound Recordings This link opens in a new window
Description: Archival Sound Recordings provides access for staff and students in higher and further education to 46,200 recordings selected from the 3.5 million items in the British Library Sound Archive. Recordings are arranged in the following collections: Accents and dialects; Arts, literature and performance; Classical music; Environment and nature; Jazz and popular music; Oral history; Sound recording history; World and traditional music.
Theatre and Dance performances
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Description: Dance in Video (volumes 1 and 2) contains 900 hours of productions, documentaries, interviews and instructional material featuring the most influential performers, companies and choreographers of the 20th and early 21st centuries.
Subject Scope: Ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental and improvisational dance.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Description: The Digital Theatre+ platform is on an easy-to-use platform with access to award-winning theatre productions and a wealth of engaging educational materials.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Description: A collection of over 1000 plays drawn from the Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare and Faber lists, plus over 100 scholarly works providing critical analysis and contextual information.
Date Range: N/A
Subject Scope: Plays range from classics to contemporary writing.
Full Text: Yes
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection is now complete and contains 30 filmed performances.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Description: Theatre in Video currently contains more than 250 performances of significant plays from around the world, ranging from Shakespeare to Beckett. It also includes over 100 film documentaries. Hundreds of leading playwrights, actors, directors and designers are represented.
Subject Scope: The database covers a wide range of twentieth-century theatre history.