Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Links to open access papers, organisations and statistics
These resources can be accessed and used by anyone.
CORE (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new windowOpen Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. CORE (COnnecting REpositories) aims to facilitate free access to scholarly publications distributed across many systems. CORE gives you access to millions of scholarly articles aggregated from many Open Access repositories.
Open Access Digital Theological Library (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new windowOpen Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. High-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives and stable public domain collections.
Google Scholar (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new windowOpen Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses and books, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
If we don't have something you need...
You have to be fully registered with Middlesex University to be able to use these services.
Theology related databases
Search for material including articles, conference proceedings and books. Some, but not all, databases provide links to the full text of articles, where the university has a subscription to that title. You must be a full Middlesex student to access these resources.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Description: Searches over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters.
Subject Scope: Anthropology, Economics, Politics, Sociology, Development Studies, Gender and Sexuality, Human Geography and Environment, Development Studies, Business and Management, Social Policy, Health, Education, International relations, Media and communication, Psychology, History, Law and Philosophy.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Description: Humanities International Complete provides full text for over 1200 journals, together with books and other published sources from around the world. It also contains all the data from Humanities International Index providing indexing and abstracting for over 2000 journals. Much of its full-text content is not found in other databases.
CIAO This link opens in a new window Description: A wide range of scholarship including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Subject Scope: Theory and research in international affairs
Date Range: 1991 to present
Full Text: Yes
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Description: Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index
(See individual databases for more information)
Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Full Text: No
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Description: Searches articles within over 630 journals published by Sage.
Subject Scope: Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine.
Full Text: Full text availability to a large number of Sage journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Description: PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.
Subject Scope: Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Date Range: 1806 to present
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Description: Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe , the United States and many jurisdictions. Also includes commentary, notes and current awareness.
Subject Scope: Legal journals, cases, legislation, commentary and current awareness.
Date Range: UK cases begin with 1865 and EU cases 1954. UK case law Official Transcripts begin with 1955. Commentary is the current edition.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Help Sheets and Teaching Slides
You can download statistical analysis software from the Middlesex University download server or link to it as indicated.
We have created a Linkedin Learning Collection of courses to teach you how to use Nvivo (and other statistical software).
Nvivo allows a researcher to work with rich information, where deep levels of analysis on both small and large volumes of data are required. "It removes .. tasks associated with analysis, like classifying, sorting and arranging information, so you have more time to explore trends, build and test theories and ultimately arrive at answers to questions." It is often used for analyzing qualitative data from interviews.
- The Middlesex University download server has PC and Mac versions.
- The product key is kept in the terms and conditions document on the download server, at the very end of the document.
- See the 'How to' IT guides for a step-by-step guide to downloading Nvivo
- The Nvivo website includes Nvivo website tutorials to help you get started.
- There is also an Nvivo training course on Linkedin Learning.