Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Middlesex University’s Sheppard Library and to your Hong Kong University SPACE course resources.
Use this guide to find out about the resources available to you from Middlesex University and how you can access them.
Middlesex is supporting your studies by providing access to resources which are appropriate to the following programmes:
MSc Electronic Security & Digital Forensics (2024)
BA Graphic Design (30/08/2019)
BA Interior Architecture (30/09/2019)
BA Journalism and Communication
BA Media & Cultural studies (30/08/2020)
BA Publishing & Digital Cultures (31/08/2020)
BA Journalism & Media top up (ends30/08/2020)
BSc (Hons) Computer Networks (31/08/2024)
CertHE & DipHE Computer Networks (2024) (EXIT)
DipHE Journalism & Media (2019) (EXIT)
DipHE Media & Cultural Studies (2019) (EXIT)
PGCert Electronic Security & Digital Forensics (2020) (EXIT)
PGDip Electronic Security & Digital Forensics (2020) (EXIT)
Resources provided by Middlesex University Library
The resources you need for your course are listed below:
ACM Digital Library Description: Database of papers published and marketed by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) including journal and newsletter articles, and conference proceedings; plus citations/abstracts to material from other publishers.
Subject Scope: All areas of computing science.
Date Range: 60 years of ACM archives
Full Text: Yes for ACM publications
ARTbibliographies Modern Description: ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitised, but entries date back to the late 1960s.
Art Full Text Description: Also includes Art Abstracts and contains bibliographic references and abstracts of articles from 280 periodicals - journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subject coverage spans all aspects of art, from visual to performing arts, and ranges from Archaeology to Television and Video. Art Abstracts currently has 400,000 records and is updated monthly. It indexes periodicals from 1984, and includes abstracts from 1994 onwards.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index Description: Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Business Source Complete Description: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
Computer Source Description: Searchable database of c750 publications (mostly journals), providing access to the latest information and current trends in high technology including topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Subject Scope: All areas of computing and information science.
Date Range: Various dates, but full text information dates as far back as 1985.
Full Text: Full-text access to c300 publications. Citation/abstract only for c450 publications.
Design and Applied Arts Index Description: DAAI is an international index to the contents of design and crafts journals since 1973, and is the only database devoted to this subject area. Subjects covered include advertising, jewellery, metalsmithing, packaging, graphic design, fashion, textiles, design management etc. In addition DAAI also includes other searchable databases: international directories of associations, journals, educational establishments, archives and special collections.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text Description: Film and television research.
Subject Scope: Film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and movie reviews. Also includes over 36,300 images from the Motion Picture and Television Photo Archive.
Date Range: In general from 1990s -
Subject Scope: Movie reviews from Variety from 1914 -
IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)) Description: Access to quality technical literature from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, and IEEE published standards.
Subject Scope: Electrical engineering, computing science and electronics.
Date Range: Mainly from 1988 onwards, with some select content published since 1893.
Full Text: Yes
LinkedIn Learning Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)
Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.
Proquest eBooks Central A collection of library licenced eBooks
WARC Description: World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) combines current new thinking and trends with best practice, featuring access to over 6,000 award-winning case studies, in-depth trend analysis, and research reports.
Established in 1985, WARC combines its own content with that of respected industry partners worldwide and provides detailed solutions to real marketing challenges.
Cite Them Right Online Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work
Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing
Login as a Middlesex student
If you haven't already done so, in order to access the library resources provided for you:
- Login to myUnihub
- Click on My Study
- Click on My Library
- Click on 'My Subject - Library Guides'
- Click on the name of your institution to access your resources
Resources provided by Hong Kong OU Library
You may also be required to use the following resources which are supplied via Hong Kong University. Please contact the Hong Kong U library for more information on how to access them.
- ACM - Association of Computing Machinery
- British Standards Online (BSOL)
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science
For help accessing these contact.....[Add HKU contact info]