It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hong Kong Metropolitan University (Franchise): Home
Welcome to Middlesex University’s Sheppard Library and to your Hong Kong Metropolitan University course.
Use this resource guide to find out about the resources available to you from Middlesex University and how you can access them.
Middlesex is supporting your studies by providing access to resources which are appropriate to the following programmes:
BSc Occupational Safety and Health Management (144B92B) (31/08/2025).
Resources provided by Middlesex University Library
The resources you need for your course are listed below:
Barbour IndexThis link opens in a new windowBarbour offers full text documentation on legislation, regulations and standards for Environment, Health & Safety professionals.
BioMed Central (Open Access Resource)This link opens in a new windowOpen Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. BioMed Central is a STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 287 peer-reviewed open access journals.
British Nursing DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowAn extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles
When clicking on the CINAHL database link, type in 'Middlesex' into the right hand search box, and select 'Middlesex University'. You will then be asked to log into myUnihub, which you must do in order to access your e-resources.
Cochrane (Open Access Resource)This link opens in a new windowOpen Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. The Cochrane Library (UK access) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for finding Systematic Reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions.
EmeraldThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Emerald offers access to journal articles in the fields of Business, Economics, Management,
Marketing, Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management.
Mainland China access ended14th December 2021: We are very sorry that from 14.12.21 access to LinkedIn Learning is no longer be possible from mainland China. This includes access via VPN. Access for partners in Hong Kong will continue.
Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)
Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
PubMed (Open Access Resource)This link opens in a new windowOpen Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. References to articles from bio medical journals – this covers the same content as Medline, plus some additional life sciences journals and articles which have not yet been included in Medline, books and documents.
References may include links to the full text article in PubMed Central (Open Access) where available.
Sage Journals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Searches articles within over 630 journals published by Sage.
Subject Scope: Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine.
Full Text: Full text availability to a large number of Sage journals.
Science DirectThis link opens in a new windowDescription: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index
(See individual databases for more information)
Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Full Text: No
Login as a Middlesex student
If you haven't already logged in to myUnihub, in order to access the library resources provided for you:
Click on the name of your institution to access your resources
Resources provided by Hong Kong Metropolitan University Library
You may also be required to use the following resources which are supplied via Hong Kong OU. Please contact the Hong Kong OU library for more information on how to access them.
British Standards Online (BSOL)
Cite Them Right OnlineThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work
Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing