My Subject: Fine Art: Home

David Hockney, Mr and Mrs Clark and Percy, 1970-1, Tate Collection © David Hockney

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Fine Art. This guide gives you information on finding books in the library, journals relevant to your subject, and other resources such as new acquisitions, websites, and databases.

The Materials Room

7th - 11th April

The Materials Room is home to the MDX Special Collections.

Access to the Materials Room is currently by appointment only.

Please email us to arrange an appointment time or if you have any questions:

ACILibrarian@mdx.ac.uk

A-N: Artists' Information Company

A-N is an amazing web resource for visual artists packed with professional advice and information about:

Setting up a studio
Contracts
Marketing
Publicity
Materials
Legal issues
Research
Exhibiting
Funding

Middlesex University has a subscription to this information network which is available via Library Search (select Journal Title Search and type in A-N or click on this link (Log in to MyMDX first to avoid logging on again). For instructions on how to create an account please email ACILibrarian@mdx.ac.uk

Quick Links

Quick links to useful pages and resources.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Kortext eBooks – Library Collection This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window

Kanopy

BoB (Box of Broadcasts) This link opens in a new window The first time you use this you will have to sign in with your Middlesex email address. Description: BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service we subscribe to. BoB enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)

Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.

Statista This link opens in a new window

UniHelp
UniHelp advisors can provide information and support on all aspects of the University including your student record and programme of study, sources of academic support, money and welfare services, Library, IT and information enquiries. If you are having issues accessing the MyMDX app please follow this link to MyMdx select “Student login Support” click on the tile and start a live chat with a UniHelp advisor for support with logging in. You can also contact UniHelp, face-to-face on campus, by completing an online form or over the telephone on 020 8411 6060 (UK), 0044 208 411 6060 (International).
WGSN

SubCulture Archives This link opens in a new window An educational & cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. Click “Log in via your University or Institution”,Scroll to “Middlesex University” and click the Select button,This displays the Middlesex University Sign In page where users sign in with their IT User ID and password.

Artists' Books

We have an amazing collection of artists' books which are available as reference items in the Materials Room. The artists' books show many different bindings, materials, ideas and interpretations of "the book".

Le Book

LE BOOK Job Board
Innovative platform designed to connect the Le Book creative community with exciting job opportunities across the industry.

Your Subject Librarian

Jamie Halstead

Subjects: Arts and Creative Industries, Business, School of Arts, School of Design, School of Film, Special Collections