Description: Also includes Art Abstracts and contains bibliographic references and abstracts of articles from 280 periodicals - journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subject coverage spans all aspects of art, from visual to performing arts, and ranges from Archaeology to Television and Video. Art Abstracts currently has 400,000 records and is updated monthly. It indexes periodicals from 1984, and includes abstracts from 1994 onwards.
The DETAIL inspiration online databank gives users access to more than 5,500 DETAIL project documentations. By using professional search functions and filter options to find key terms such as building type, material, construction year or the topic of an issue, DETAIL inspiration supports architects both in their quest for solutions and in their daily work. The projects can be organized and saved as needed in personal watchlists.
Description: Worth Global Style Network Interiors is an online trend forecasting and product design tool for the industrial design, home and interiors market across 16 product categories, including furniture, lighting, textiles, interiors, garden design
Subject Scope: Interiors, product design, packaging, textiles, marketing, trends, forecasting, business strategy, trade news, trade shows
Date Range: Current
This is a key digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism and interior design. It gives access to a wide-range of texts and images from historical to contemporary material.
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide from 1500BC to the present day. It offers authoritative access to books and reference material, and includes a rich selection of museum object images.
Description: DAAI is an international index to the contents of design and crafts journals since 1973, and is the only database devoted to this subject area. Subjects covered include advertising, jewellery, metalsmithing, packaging, graphic design, fashion, textiles, design management etc. In addition DAAI also includes other searchable databases: international directories of associations, journals, educational establishments, archives and special collections.
Books, journals and photo collections from the Royal Institute of British Architects
Description: Ordnance Survey Map Data available for download to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online. Users may view and print maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales, and also download map data for use, for example, in GIS software on their own desktop.
Subject Scope:
Date Range: 2000-
Full Text: Yes
Architectural Association (AA) School of Architecture. Useful for current events, publications, competitions
Compiled by architects - good for research, up-to-date projects and architectural products.
Blog covering exhibitions, projects,books, articles allowing you to join and add content
Website for architecture students in the UK. Includes forums, jobs, exhibitions and competitions
Barbour Product Search a "searchable database of products and suppliers, including images, case studies, technical data, catalogues, news and project data".
Bustler, "sister site to the leading architecture platform, Archinect, focuses on keeping the design community busy and inspired. Bustler has become the go-to online publication for competition and event listings in the architecture and design industries."
Contemporary interiors architecture and design
"Industrial design today: courses, education, competitions, history and contemporary, shop, interviews, snapshots, design-aerobics"
An online journal showcasing the best architecture, design and interiors projects from around the world.
A gateway to architecture around the world. This website documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries and bibliographies for famous designers and structures of all kinds.
A weblog that provides information on new sustainable design and technological practices.
Mocoloco is a web magazine relating to modern contemporary design and architecture, including; residential architecture, interior design, furniture, accessories, lighting, floorcoverings, wallcoverings, books, websites, audio-video, online & retail stores and more.
Includes articles on art, design, photography, architecture, technology, environmental issues, as well as inspiring stories and interviews. This website also provides a platform for new designers.
It is important to use good quality images in your work. This means not only high resolution but good provenance. This refers to the source of the image. Is there accurate, authoritative information about the object? For example:
Instagram and Pinterest have lots of images, but information about the pictures is often very sketchy. Try to use good quality books, museums, galleries and archives or their websites.
These are links to some good quality sources of images:
Guide to products & materials including fabrics, furnishings, lighting, wall & floor finishes. Includes manufacturers details.
The Materials Library is a collection of materials gathered from sheds, labs, grottoes and repositories around the world. It is a resource, laboratory and studio providing hands-on research, events and workshops and is attached to University College London (UCL).
"A place to explore different materials and discover latest trends" Part of Johnson Tiles part provides range of samples and advice and assistance".
Material District (Previously Materia)
Allows you to search for materials by properties. Can also search by keyword. Registration required – registering is free.
A searchable database of over 56000 material data sheets covering plastics, metals, ceramics and composites. Includes details of physical properties.
Rematerialise
Excellent resource for ecosmart materials. Registration is required to search database - but registering is free.
"Transmaterial online is intended to be a clear, concise, accessible, and carefully edited resource that provides information about the latest and most intriguing materials commercially available".
Quick links to useful pages and resources.
