My Subject: 1. Induction for New Students: Finding online articles and information sources within the library collection

Journals

Need articles? Start at Library Search. Details of all Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed, magazine, newspaper articles that are held within the Middlesex University collection can be access via the universal Library Search.

To browse for articles:

Put relevant keywords into the Library Search query box.
Select 'Articles+' from the boxes drop down menu.
Use left-hand filters to narrow down results
Click on results to see our holdings.

To search for a specific article:

Put in a few words from the article title and the author’s family name
Select 'Article+' from the boxes drop down menu.
Use the filters to refine the results
Click on results to see our holdings.

You can also use the Advanced Search or Journal Title Search to create a more specific search.

To get good marks you need to back up your arguments with evidence from academic information source.

Journals should be key information sources for your essays, dissertations or research projects. Our journal collection is online, easy to browse, search and access using the library's search tool, Library Search.

But what's a journal?

Journals are specialist publications, containing short, in-depth articles which describe or report on new research. Journal articles go into detail on very specific subject areas.

Journals are a great source of current information as like magazines, they’re produced on a continual basis. As journals are published more quickly and more often than books, they can give more up-to-date information.

Accessing journal articles

Middlesex University Dubai Library has thousands of electronic journal articles.

To search within the Dubai articles collection, use the search box below powered by the Middlesex University Library Search:

To check if we have access to a journal title consult the Journal Title Search

Library Search

Middlesex University Dubai Library has thousands of electronic newspaper articles.

To search within the Dubai newspaper article collection, use the search box below powered by the Middlesex University Library Search:

You can also search newspaper collections directly through the Library databases:

Media UK Internet Directory: Newspaper Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Radio and television companies. Local and national newspapers. Magazines. Listing include: key staff, editors, ownership, web sites, addresses and telephone numbers.

News from Lexis
(LexisNexis) - Coverage: provides news content from a range of UK national and regional newspapers.
Select Athens log in, type 'Middlesex University'.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
(Proquest) - Coverage: local and regional news from the UK.

Our library databases help us electronically store and manage access to journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, company information, market research, and much more!

Databases work like search engines but better. You can be very precise and search for information using criteria. For example, scholarly articles with the keyword reflective teaching from 2010 to 2015.

The highly organised information allows you to get very specific results. Filters make it easy for you to narrow your results down further.

Different databases usually focus on particular subject areas. Listed below are databases relevant to Education.

The full A-Z Databases list contains over 160 different information sources - why not check it out? Click on the info icons to learn more about each service.

For Articles, Abstracts, Literature Reviews, Conference Proceedings, Case Studies, Videos, and more...

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Description: Also includes Art Abstracts and contains bibliographic references and abstracts of articles from 280 periodicals - journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subject coverage spans all aspects of art, from visual to performing arts, and ranges from Archaeology to Television and Video. Art Abstracts currently has 400,000 records and is updated monthly. It indexes periodicals from 1984, and includes abstracts from 1994 onwards.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Description: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
Education Journals Collection (Taylor and Francis) This link opens in a new window Offers full text journal articles and abstracts from Taylor & Francis, covering aspect of Education
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Offers full text journal articles and abstracts covering aspect of Education
Emerald This link opens in a new window Description: Emerald offers access to journal articles in the fields of Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Description: Searches over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Subject Scope: Anthropology, Economics, Politics, Sociology, Development Studies, Gender and Sexuality, Human Geography and Environment, Development Studies, Business and Management, Social Policy, Health, Education, International relations, Media and communication, Psychology, History, Law and Philosophy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Description: Archive of journals Subject Scope: Language and literature, mathematics, statistics, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Please note: Middlesex University Library does not subscribe to the whole of JSTOR but only to the "Arts & Sciences III" and "Mathematics and Statistics" collections.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Description: PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Description: PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates. Subject Scope: Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Date Range: 1806 to present
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Description: Searches articles within over 630 journals published by Sage. Subject Scope: Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine. Date Range: Full Text: Full text availability to a large number of Sage journals.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Description: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window Description: Searches the articles within 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Subject Scope: Sociology, Criminology, Substance Abuse, Urban Studies, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Health, Social Policy, Social Work, Women's Studies, Anthropology, History, Industrial Relations, Law, Philosophy. Date Range: 1970 onwards
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Description: Includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities Social Sciences Citation Index Science Citation Index (See individual databases for more information) Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Date Range: Varied Full Text: No

These databases can usually be searched by subject and name and more specifically by type of material, article title, publisher, year, language or organisation. A successful search will provide you with a list of references to relevant material (articles/papers).

Many of the databases provide an abstract (summary) of the article's content, which gives an indication of its usefulness and relevance. This is in addition to bibliographic details such as author, article title, journal title, issue/volume number and date.

For Market Research, Company Information, Trends, and Statistics

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Description: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window An excellent collection of industry research reports
Mintel This link opens in a new window Mintel contains marketing intelligence reports, trend analysis and market size information for a wide range of industries and across several countries. It is particularly strong for sector information in European and American countries.
Passport This link opens in a new window Description: Passport provides key business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It will be useful to students studying a wide range of areas including international business and marketing, economics, social science, travel and tourism, international hospitality management, international relations & environmental health.
WARC This link opens in a new window Description: World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) combines current new thinking and trends with best practice, featuring access to over 6,000 award-winning case studies, in-depth trend analysis, and research reports. Established in 1985, WARC combines its own content with that of respected industry partners worldwide and provides detailed solutions to real marketing challenges.