Home - Hong Kong University - School of Professional and Continuing Education (SPACE)(Franchise) - My Subject at Middlesex University Library and Student Support

Login as a Middlesex student

If you haven't already done so, in order to access the library resources provided for you:

Go to MyMDX
For information on logging-in to MyMDX and Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)
Sign in using your MDX email address and your usual MDX password
Authenticate using the Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)
Click on the Library (Partner Institutions) tile
Click on 'My Subject - Library Guides'
Click on the name of your institution to access your resources
For further help

If you are asked to login again, enter your short IT username (e.g. AB123) and the same password you use for MyMDX

PowerPoint Slides on logging-in to access the MDX library resources

Resources provided by Middlesex University Library

The resources you need for your course are listed below:

ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window Description: ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitised, but entries date back to the late 1960s.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Description: Also includes Art Abstracts and contains bibliographic references and abstracts of articles from 280 periodicals - journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subject coverage spans all aspects of art, from visual to performing arts, and ranges from Archaeology to Television and Video. Art Abstracts currently has 400,000 records and is updated monthly. It indexes periodicals from 1984, and includes abstracts from 1994 onwards.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Description: Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window Description: Searchable database of c750 publications (mostly journals), providing access to the latest information and current trends in high technology including topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Subject Scope: All areas of computing and information science. Date Range: Various dates, but full text information dates as far back as 1985. Full Text: Full-text access to c300 publications. Citation/abstract only for c450 publications.
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window Description: DAAI is an international index to the contents of design and crafts journals since 1973, and is the only database devoted to this subject area. Subjects covered include advertising, jewellery, metalsmithing, packaging, graphic design, fashion, textiles, design management etc. In addition DAAI also includes other searchable databases: international directories of associations, journals, educational establishments, archives and special collections.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)) This link opens in a new window Description: Access to quality technical literature from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, and IEEE published standards. Subject Scope: Electrical engineering, computing science and electronics. Date Range: Mainly from 1988 onwards, with some select content published since 1893. Full Text: Yes
Kortext eBooks – Library Collection This link opens in a new window A great place to search across a wide range of eBooks
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)

Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.
Proquest eBooks Central This link opens in a new window A collection of library licenced eBooks
Statista This link opens in a new window An extensive collection of statistics, reports and insights.
WARC This link opens in a new window Description: World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) combines current new thinking and trends with best practice, featuring access to over 6,000 award-winning case studies, in-depth trend analysis, and research reports. Established in 1985, WARC combines its own content with that of respected industry partners worldwide and provides detailed solutions to real marketing challenges.

Referencing

Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing

Resources provided by Hong Kong OU Library

You may also be required to use the following resources which are supplied via Hong Kong University. Please contact the Hong Kong University Library for more information on how to access them.

ACM - Association of Computing Machinery
British Standards Online (BSOL)
Lecture Notes in Computer Science

Staff Support

If you have questions regarding access to Middlesex University Library resources or would like to report an issue with this guide, please contact:

Jamie Halstead

Email: j.halstead@mdx.ac.uk

Hong Kong University - School of Professional and Continuing Education (SPACE)(Franchise): Home

Welcome

Login as a Middlesex student

Resources provided by Middlesex University Library

Referencing

Resources provided by Hong Kong OU Library

Staff Support