Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Business: Financial Databases: Certification

Financial databases provide mostly financial data but also textual information for students studying finance, economics, accounting and financial mathematics

Certification Training Events / Classes

Bloomberg Certification - The BMC

Overview:

  • Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) is a self-paced e-learning certification course that provides a visual/interactive introduction to the financial markets
  • BMC consists of three separate courses but only those with a certificate icon Certificate Icon are required to gain a certificate 
    • Core Concepts (Economics, Currencies, Fixed Income, & Equities)
    • Portfolio Management
    • Terminal Basics
  • This is an assessed course which results in certification on completion which is a physical certificate but can also be linked to in your Linked-in Account
  • The Market Concepts Certification Course requires a combination of financial market knowledge, Bloomberg terminal skills and Bloomberg functions knowledge.  A more detailed breakdown of the course is available HERE
  • Once you have completed BMC, you can create a profile and upload your CV in JOBS <GO>.  You will be able to search the Bloomberg Employment database and equally,  your BMC score will become available to Bloomberg-using companies who are searching for interns and graduate-entry employees

Help and Support:

The BMC is designed to be self-contained with the video content giving you all the information you should need to answer the embedded questions.

You can access some practice questions which are designed to work with the Bloomberg terminal running.  Please access the BMC Prep-Test HERE: 

BMC Certificate

Your BMC certificate is issued on completion.  To earn the Bloomberg Certificate , you must complete all course with the certificate icon undefined

Datastream Certification

Overview:

  • Datastream is a professional-standard financial database
  • Achieving certified status allows you to prove that you have achieved a certain standard of proficiency on a platform that is used by financiers, bankers and traders
  • In combination with the BMC and Eikon Certification, you would be presenting a CV to employer that shows not only financial acuity but also practical experience of using professional trading databases
  • How the product certification works:
    • Watch the training videos
    • Take the Datastream Prep-test
    • Request token for the exam
    • The exam can be taken twice
    • The exam itself consists of 30 multiple-choice questions
    • You have 60 minutes to complete the exam
    • Results are instant and a certificate will be emailed to you on the day

Datastream Study Materials

Support materials are available HERE

  • Watch the material whilst being logged into Datastream for a more in depth learning experience
  • Take ordered notes as there is a lot of material
  • Take the Prep-Test-Exam to indicate whether you are ready to take the Datastream Certification Exam

Datastream Certification Prep-Test

The DCP-T is designed to mimic the sorts of questions you may be asked during the exam.  Take the mock as many times as you like but bare in mind that this is a timed exam so time yourself as-well.

Eikon Certification

Overview:

  • Eikon is a professional-standard financial database
  • Achieving certified status allows you to prove that you have achieved a certain standard of proficiency on a platform that is used by financiers, bankers and traders
  • In combination with the BMC and Datastream Certification, you would be presenting a CV to employer that shows not only financial acuity but also practical experience of using professional trading databases
  • How the product certification works:
    • Watch the training videos
    • Take the Eikon Prep-test
    • Request token for the exam
    • The exam can be taken twice
    • The exam itself consists of 30 multiple-choice questions
    • You have 60 minutes to complete the exam
    • Results are instant and a certificate will be emailed to you on the day

 

Eikon Study Materials

Support materials are available HERE

  • Watch the material whilst being logged into Eikon for a more in depth learning experience
  • Take ordered notes as there is a lot of material
  • Take the Prep-Test-Exam to indicate whether you are ready to take the Eikon Certification Exam

Eikon Certification Prep-Test

The Eikon CP-T is designed to mimic the sorts of questions you may be asked during the exam.  Take the mock as many times as you like but bare in mind that this is a timed exam so time yourself as-well.