Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drama Online now includes National Theatre Collection
Drama Online has an online collection of full-text plays from Nick Hern Modern Plays, Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare and Faber, as well over 100 full-text books providing critical analysis and contextual information.
The National Theatre Collection 1 draws on 10 years of the National Theatre’s live broadcasts and contains 30 productions, in the following categories: comedies, 20th century classics and modern plays, Shakespeare plays and literary adaptations.
Benedict Cumberbatch in Frankenstein
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Description: A collection of over 1000 plays drawn from the Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare and Faber lists, plus over 100 scholarly works providing critical analysis and contextual information.
Date Range: N/A
Subject Scope: Plays range from classics to contemporary writing.
Full Text: Yes
- Databases are collections of publications such as journal articles. They are current and contain the latest research on a topic.
- Full-text databases provide direct access to the complete article.
- Library Search searches all the databases we subscribe to at Middlesex University.
- You can search the databases separately if you wish, details of relevant resources for theatre arts are below:
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Description: The International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance is a comprehensive research tool, providing a full index, with cross-references and annotations, to over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. In addition, IBTD makes available over 140 full-text journal titles and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Description: Archive of journals
Subject Scope: Language and literature, mathematics, statistics, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
Please note: Middlesex University Library does not subscribe to the whole of JSTOR but only to the "Arts & Sciences III" and "Mathematics and Statistics" collections.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Description: Performing Arts Periodicals database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts Full Text) contains more than half a million indexed articles from over 256 performing arts journals. Most index entries include an abstract and an increasing number contain full text of the original article.
Britannica (Encyclopedia) This link opens in a new window
Description: 100,000 professionally edited and researched articles on just about every subject, thesaurus & dictionary of quotations, links to 800,000 full-text journal and magazine articles plus full text E-books and primary sources, World Data Analyst (current and past statistics and interactive World Atlas) and automatic citations at the end of articles.
Proquest One Literature
Proquest One Literature provides access to full text journals, historic criticism, dissertations, ebooks, primary works (poetry, drama and prose), video and audio, and reference works. It offers an international and interdisciplinary perspective on literary topics with sources from all over the world. Includes work by black playwriters and authors.
Key Theatre Arts journals include:
- Comparative Drama
- Shakespeare Quarterly
- Theatre Notebook
- Theatre Research International
Proquest One Literature This link opens in a new window
A database for literary research incorporating all of Literature Online (LION), 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works including rare and hard to find texts, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos including theatre performances, and 20,000 ebooks.