Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Theatre: AudioVisual Materials

Theatre in Video

Theatre in Video provides online streaming for over 250 performances of significant plays from around the world, ranging from Shakespeare to Beckett, and more than 100 film documentaries. Hundreds of leading playwrights, actors, directors and designers are represented. Theatre in Video provides a valuable insight into a wide range of twentieth-century theatre history. Theatre in Video site has recently been updated to include improved functionality and new content.

Drama Online now includes National Theatre Collection

 

The National Theatre Collection  draws on 10 years of the National Theatre’s live broadcasts and contains 30 productions, in the following categories: comedies, 20th century classics and modern plays, Shakespeare plays and literary adaptations.

Benedict Cumberbatch in Frankenstein

Drama Online also has an online collection of full-text plays from Nick Hern Modern Plays, Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare and Faber, as well over 100 full-text books providing critical analysis and contextual information.

 

DVD / Video Collection

The Sheppard Library houses a large collection of DVDs in the 1st Floor Wing. The collection includes feature films, documentaries, television programmes, and theatre productions.

To locate a DVD use Library Search.

Archival sound recordings

Archival Sound Recordings provides access to 46,200 recordings selected from the 3.5 million items in the British Library Sound Archive including a collection of accents and dialects which provide an excellent resource for those needing to perfect an accent for a specific character, plus collections on Arts, and literature and performance.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

                                                   Bob Logo - Image of man looking at computer

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a service provided by the British Universities Film & Video Council that enables users to record and view TV and radio online from over 50 free-to-air channels in the UK. For full instructions see the Library User Guide Box of Broadcasts

About Kanopy & Searching

Display of a range film titles ( DVD covers)

Kanopy is an online streaming service for films and documentaries. You can access Kanopy from any device, including IOS and Android.

To access this service login to MyUniHub > My Study > My Library > Databases > K > Kanopy

Content includes: Popular documentaries, Oscar Winners and Nominees, Classic Films, Independent Films.

´╗┐Find films by using the search field in Kanopy. Use the Browse option for subject areas and genres.

Also, when you search Library Search it will find films and/or documentaries available on Kanopy relating to your subject terms.