My Subject: Academy of Journalism and Communication (Franchise): Home

Login as a Middlesex student

If you haven't already done so, in order to access the library resources provided for you:

Go to MyMDX
For information on logging-in to MyMDX and Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)
Sign in using your MDX email address and your usual MDX password
Authenticate using the Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)
Click on the Library (Partner Institutions) tile
Click on 'My Subject - Library Guides'
Click on the name of your institution to access your resources
For further help

If you are asked to login again, enter your short IT username (e.g. AB123) and the same password you use for MyMDX

PowerPoint Slides on logging-in to access the MDX library resources

Resources provided by Middlesex University Library

The resources you need for your course are listed below:

Business Source Complete Description: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
Economist
Please Note: Middlesex University will no longer have access to this resource after 30th June 2025
Emerald Description: Emerald offers access to journal articles in the fields of Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management.
FT.com The first time that you access FT.com using this link you will be asked to register - Please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).
Global Newsstream Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
IBISWorld An excellent collection of industry research reports
Kortext eBooks – Library Collection A great place to search across a wide range of eBooks
LinkedIn Learning
Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)

Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.
Passport Description: Passport provides key business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It will be useful to students studying a wide range of areas including international business and marketing, economics, social science, travel and tourism, international hospitality management, international relations & environmental health.
Proquest eBooks Central A collection of library licenced eBooks
Sage Journals Online Description: Searches articles within over 630 journals published by Sage.Subject Scope: Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine. Date Range: Full Text: Full text availability to a large number of Sage journals.
Science Direct Description: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Statista An extensive collection of statistics, reports and insights. 
WARC Description: World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) combines current new thinking and trends with best practice, featuring access to over 6,000 award-winning case studies, in-depth trend analysis, and research reports. Established in 1985, WARC combines its own content with that of respected industry partners worldwide and provides detailed solutions to real marketing challenges.
Web of Science Description: Includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities Social Sciences Citation Index Science Citation Index (See individual databases for more information) Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Date Range: Varied Full Text: No
Wiley Online Library Searches articles within journals published by Wiley, covering a range of subjects including Business, Social Sciences and Health Sciences.Full text availability to over 150 journals published by Wiley.

Referencing

Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic workSubject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing

Student Support

If you need help accessing or using the resources on this guide, please contact the librarian at the Academy of Journalism and Communication.

Staff Support

If you have questions regarding access to Middlesex University Library resources or would like to report an issue with this guide, please contact:

Jamie Halstead

Email: j.halstead@mdx.ac.uk

Academy of Journalism and Communication (Franchise): Home

Welcome

Login as a Middlesex student

Resources provided by Middlesex University Library

Referencing

Student Support

Staff Support