Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help with Academic Writing
Gemma Wilkinson is the Academic Writing and Language Lecturer for the School of Health and Education. Gemma can help you excel in your academic communication, whether this is in written assignments or oral presentations, as well as using information effectively and ethically in your work.
You can also book 1-2-1 tutorials with them or sign up for LET workshops (links below).
Below are some key resources recommended by your lecturers:
Resources to Support Mentors
The purpose of this site is to provide a range of resources for mentors, co-mentors and supervisors to support them in their role of facilitating Nursing and Midwifery students’ learning and assessment in practice.
Cite Them Right Online
Cite Them Right Online will help you to reference just about any source, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. Make sure you have logged into Unihub before accessing.
Standards to Support Learning and Assessment in Practice - NMC
Students on Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC) approved pre-registration nursing education programmes must be supported and assessed by mentors. This 76-page document, published in 2010, gives access to the NMC standards for mentors, practice teachers and teachers.
RCN Guidance for mentorship of nursing students and midwives
This toolkit, published by the Royal College of Nursing is designed for a mentor new to the role but can also act as a useful prompt and update for more experienced mentors. It looks at the role of the mentor and the support available for mentors, and provides guidance, including a placement checklist, on how to help students get the most out of their placements.
RCN Mentorship Project 2015 From Today’s Support in Practice to Tomorrow’s Vision for Excellence
The skills, education and training of a mentor are important in ensuring that the practice placement of our nursing students supports high quality learning. The RCN has researched and debated what constitutes good mentorship. This report brings together output from this work and is designed to provide all stakeholders with an insight into how mentorship is valued, and demonstrate the need for further investment in this important role.
NICE: Evidence Search
Use this link to register for an NHS Athens username and password via the Journals and Databases page
Raising concerns: guidance for nurses and midwives
Raising Concerns provides guidance for nurses and midwives on raising concerns, setting out broad principles that will help them think through the issues and take appropriate action in the public interest. This new edition includes information on recent legislation that offers protection to whistleblowers as well as updated information on organisations nurses and midwives can go to for further advice.
Finding Books and Journal Articles
Use Library Search to find your books, journal articles and other online resources.
Library Search (Hendon) Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.
It replaces Summon and the Library Catalogue.
More in-depth literature searching
CINAHL is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
British Nursing Database
An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles.
Search key nursing journals such as the British Journal of Community Nursing, British Journal of Nursing, Nurse Prescribing, Practice Nurse amongst others. All articles available as full text.