Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Fashion and Textiles: Welcome

Online study support from the Library Teams

Following on from Government guidance on the Covid-19 pandemic, we have now moved our services online: contact details below for the various services:
Librarians http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk choose Chat or Ask a Librarian 
IT Support http://unihub.mdx.ac.uk/support/unihelp Browse FAQs or Submit a Query
Learning Enhancement Team (LET):https://unihub.mdx.ac.uk/study/writing-numeracy
LET Academic Writing and Language: Email:  AWL@mdx.ac.uk
LET Maths, stats and numeracy:Email:  MSN@mdx.ac.uk

Covid -19: Online Resources

During this very difficult time many institutions and publishers are offering useful online content to help students study remotely. This is a list of resources which you may find helpful.

Library Search is very useful for finding ebooks and online journal articles, but don't forget there are specialist art & design databases too.

Fashion Collection

The Fashion Collection is a collection of clothes, accessories, fabrics and haberdashery items which date from Victorian times to the present day. Some core garments, bags and hats are available to view in detail on Flickr.

You can visit the Collection in the Materials Room, and some key classic garments are available for loan. These include:

  • A Burberry coat
  • Black motorcycle jacket
  • Levis 501 jeans
  • Dickies suit

There is a catalogue of the Key Pieces lending collection available to download from the file below.

Welcome to the Library Video

Welcome

Metropolitan Museum of Art

Welcome to this subject guide for fashion and textiles resources. This guide gives you information on finding books in the library, journals relevant to your subject and other resources such as new acquisitions, websites and databases.

Fashion Collection: How to View

The Fashion Collection is made up of different parts, and you can find out more about them by using these links:

New Books

Click here for new books in the Sheppard Library on fashion and textiles

Quick Links

These are links to useful Middlesex websites.

Zines!


Image: Jessie Lynn McMains

We have a new and exciting collection of zines available to browse in the Materials Room. These range from some of the earliest punk titles like Sniffin' Glue to lots of new examples in many shapes and sizes.