My Subject: Visual Communication Design: Key Databases

Search for journal articles and eBooks

Library Search (Hendon) This link opens in a new window Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.

Google Scholar (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses and books, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Art Full Text Historical and contemporary fine art, some applied arts and design. Some material is available in full-text.
JSTOR Middlesex subscribes to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences digital library which contains thousands of scholarly articles from acdemic journals.
Design & Applied Art Index Covers all aspects of design, applied arts and crafts. There are links to some full-text material.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index Scholarly coverage of arts and humanities subjects including some design.
Art Bibliographies Modern Mainly 20th/21st century coverage of fine art including design.

Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide from 1500BC to the present day. It offers authoritative access to books and reference material, and includes a rich selection of museum object images.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window This resource offers searchable access to over 170 eBooks on a broad range of visual arts subjects including fashion and textiles, design and illustration, photography, film and animation, architecture and interiors, marketing and advertising. Providing visual inspiration and ideas, practical advice and techniques.
Kortext eBooks – Library Collection This link opens in a new window A great place to search across a wide range of eBooks
Proquest eBooks Central This link opens in a new window A collection of library licenced eBooks
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window Millions of e-Books available to view in full text. The ‘Texts’ collection of the Internet Archive includes millions of digitized books from various libraries around the world as well as many special collections. Register using your email address, login and click Borrow.

WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window Description: Worth Global Style Network Fashion provides forward trend analysis and creative intelligence for designers and fashion professionals. It provides 24/7 access to future fashion, apparel and fabric trends, colour palettes, international fashion news and trade show reports. Subject Scope: Fashion, textiles, marketing, trends, forecasting, fashion news, trade shows Date Range: Current
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window Description: The (US) Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present reproduced in high-colour page images. The latest issue will be added each month. Subject Scope: Fashion, fashion history, fashion marketing, fashion photography, beauty industry, advertising, illustration, popular culture. Date Range: 1892- present Full Text: Yes (images and text)
SubCulture Archives This link opens in a new window An educational & cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. Click “Log in via your University or Institution”, Scroll to “Middlesex University” and click the Select button, This displays the Middlesex University Sign In page where users sign in with their IT User ID and password.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window Films online via the Kanopy streaming service. Content includes: Popular documentaries, Oscar winners and nominees, classic films, short films and independent films.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
FT.com This link opens in a new window The first time that you access FT.com using this link you will be asked to register - Please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window Description: Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe , the United States and many jurisdictions. Also includes commentary, notes ,current awareness and Halsbury's Laws of England. Date Range: UK case law since 1865. Journal coverage varies depending on publishers. US case law(State and Federal)-dates vary. Large collection of full text US law reviews/journals-again dates vary.