Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please read this BEFORE logging into the electronic resources
Make sure you use the following route to access the resources, so you are fully authenticated as a Middlesex University student. This should ensure the resources allow you access where we have a subscription: Login to MyUniHub > My Study > My Library > click on a link in the My Library box
How do I access midwifery journals?
Most of the journals at Middlesex University are only available online. The titles of all the journals we subscribe to are included in Library Search. The results screen will show a link to online issues and full details of any print holdings the library has.
Below is a selection of midwifery journals we subscribe to electronically. Click on the cover to link through to each journal. You can also use the EJournals link on Unihub to see what journals we have in each subject area
Article not available?
Sometimes you will not be able to access the article directly from within the database. You may get a message saying full text is not available or a window will pop up telling you to request the item by Inter-library loan. When this happens there are a number of places you can check to see if we have access to the article.
- Firstly you can search for the article title in Library Search.
- You could also try searching for the article in Google Scholar.
- You could also check Library Search or the Journal A-Z list to see whether we subscribe to the Journal the article is in.
- If we don't have a subscription you can order the article via the Inter Library Loans Service. There is a charge of £3 per item which is added to your library account. Make sure you read the abstract of the article and assess it's usefulness/relevance BEFORE you order the item - this will save you from making costly errors of judgement.
Understanding the originality report from Turnitin
Watch this video to get a better understanding of what the similarity score means from Turnitin and how to improve your referencing skills.
How do I find journal articles?
To search for journal articles on a particular topic either use Library Search or one of our subject specific databases.
Library Search provides a Google-like search experience. It is good for scoping what material is available.
It can be useful for advanced researchers to use Library Search after searching the subject specific databases to uncover any items in other databases they may have missed.
Library Search is also the quickest and easiest way to find a specific journal article - simply type the name into the search box.
Full text databases for basic literature searching:
Intermid contains all content from the British Journal of Midwifery from 1996 onwards. It also exclusively includes access to its sister title, African Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health.
Internurse This link opens in a new window Find full text articles from key UK nursing journals, including British Journal of Nursing.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles
Maternity and Infant Care This link opens in a new window
This includes MIDIRS. Use the filters on the left under Publication Type to narrow down to Original Research, Review etc.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Try typing your terms into 'keyword' or choose the Advanced Search. You can filter on the left of your results page to get 'Nursing & Health Professions' resources only.
The Practising Midwife
Make sure you are logged into My UniHub first.
Passwords: 52939 and SheppardLib012?
Choose 'Archive' to browse by year. The pink search box often doesn't work so follow their instructions and choose 'Simple Search'. Also, if you select any article, an alternative search box will appear top right and that one lets you search the archive!
Databases for advanced literature searching:
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Find nursing, midwifery and allied health article references from more than 3000 journals
Date Range: 1981 - present
Full Text: No (partial)
Medline This link opens in a new window Good for finding articles from the whole range of medical literature. Covers more than 4800 journals.
OVID Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window
For Midwifery articles choose Maternity & Infant Care Database (MIDIRS).
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Description: PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.
Subject Scope: Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Date Range: 1806 to present
The main purpose of databases such as Medline or CINAHL is to find good quality research articles. To find out how to search the databases effectively see the Literature Searching tab. Video tutorials are available for each of the main databases.
Further resources for advanced researchers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Description: Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index
(See individual databases for more information)
Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Full Text: No
Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. The Cochrane Library (UK access) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for finding Systematic Reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions.
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) is a search engine covering freely available versions of research from around the world.