Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Midwifery: Finding Journals and Journal Articles

Please read this BEFORE logging into the electronic resources

Make sure you use the following route to access the resources, so you are fully authenticated as a Middlesex University student. This should ensure the resources allow you access where we have a subscription: Login to MyUniHub > My Study > My Library > click on a link in the My Library box

How do I access midwifery journals?

Most of the journals at Middlesex University are only available online. The titles of all the journals we subscribe to are included in Library Search. The results screen will show a link to online issues and full details of any print holdings the library has.

Below is a selection of midwifery journals we subscribe to electronically. Click on the cover to link through to each journal. You can also use the EJournals link on Unihub to see what journals we have in each subject area

Practising Midwife cover

AJM Cover Image result for midwives magazine Neonatal Network logo
Evidence Based Midwifery cover Cover image Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health

 

Article not available?

Sometimes you will not be able to access the article directly from within the database. You may get a message saying full text is not available or a window will pop up telling you to request the item by Inter-library loan. When this happens there are a number of places you can check to see if we have access to the article. 

  • Firstly you can search for the article title in Library Search.
  • You could also try searching for the article in Google Scholar.
  • You could also check Library Search or the Journal A-Z list to see whether we subscribe to the Journal the article is in.
  • If we don't have a subscription you can order the article via the Inter Library Loans Service. There is a charge of £3 per item which is added to your library account. Make sure you read the abstract of the article and assess it's usefulness/relevance BEFORE you order the item - this will save you from making costly errors of judgement.
           

Understanding the originality report from Turnitin

How do I find journal articles?

To search for journal articles on a particular topic either use Library Search or one of our subject specific databases

Library Search provides a Google-like search experience. It is good for scoping what material is available.

It can be useful for advanced researchers to use Library Search after searching the subject specific databases to uncover any items in other databases they may have missed.

Library Search is also the quickest and easiest way to find a specific journal article - simply type the name into the search box.

Full text databases for basic literature searching:

https://ucseresources.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/intermid.gif

http://s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/accounts/66206/images/OvidSPLogo.GIF

Databases for advanced literature searching:

The main purpose of databases such as Medline or CINAHL is to find good quality research articles. To find out how to search the databases effectively see the Literature Searching tab. Video tutorials are available for each of the main databases. 

Further resources for advanced researchers

https://www.tripdatabase.com/static/img/trip-logo.png

CORE image