The internet can be a great place for research. Google is quick and easy to use, links to vast amounts of free and current information, includes government sites, many research organisation, and specialist blogs.
The downside to Google is it does not discriminate and won't give the best results for academic information. Unlike the the Library's resources that are chosen for quality, you'll have to evaluate all information that you find on the Internet before you use it in your assignments.
When evaluating think about:
​Google Search Engine Tools
Searches scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines from journal articles, eBooks to conference papers. Items are ranks by citations. Recent and popular items are often restricted behind Publishers' pay-walls.
Student can use citations found in Google Scholar to search Library Search and access the full text if available.
Provides a sophisticated search interface to retrieve more specific results similar to the functionality of the library databases. You can use search operators (AND, OR, NOT) and other punctuation to get limited resulted rather than the million plus, typical of Google.
You can search within specific domains e.g. .ac.uk or websites: www.gov.uk.
ACCA - The global body for professional accountants.
Accounty Age - At Accountancy Age, delivers the latest news and analysis, intelligence and resources, and job opportunities to UK accountants in both practice and industry, fostering an informed and engaged community in the accountancy sector.
Bank of England: YouTube channel - The Bank of England's official YouTube video channel.
Bloomberg - Website with news on Financial Markets, Technology, Politics, and opinion.
British Venture Capital Association - The British Private Equity & Venture Capital Association (BVCA) is the industry body and public policy advocate for the private equity and venture capital industry in the UK.
Chartered Institute of Internal Auditors - The Chartered Institute of Internal Auditors is the professional association for internal auditors in the UK and Ireland.
Creative Tracks - Creative Tracks is about creative entrepreneurship, networking, knowledge sharing, capacity building and global dialogue.
Damodaran - Blog created by Aswath Damodaran an academic teaching corporate finance and valuation at the Stern School of Business at New York University.
Economia - Online magazine created by ICAEW.
Financial Conduct Authroity - The Financial Conduct Authority aims to make financial markets work well so that consumers get a fair deal
HM Treasury: YouTube channel - The UK Government HM Treasury's official YouTube channel.
IMF Videos - Official video presentations from the International Monetary Fund. Videos can be selected by category, country, year and language.
International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation - The IFRS® Foundation is a not-for-profit international organisation responsible for developing a single set of high-quality global accounting standards, known as IFRS Standards.
LSE: Video and Audio - Videos and podcasts from the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE).
NET Economics videos - Videos on finance and economics from the Institute for New Economic Thinking (INET) at the Oxford Martin School, University of Oxford.
Studying Economics - Advice, help and information for Economics undergraduates. If you are looking for help with career choices, doing a dissertation or preparing for an exam you've come to the right place!
UWTV: Business and Economics - Leadership, business and economics video training material from the University of Washington, USA.
Basic Business Research Methods - Basic business research methods from Free Management Library. The Library provides free, easy-to-access, online articles to develop yourself, other individuals, groups and organizations (whether the organization is for-profit or nonprofit).
BBC Business news - Up-to-date Business news from the BBC.
Belbin Resources - Belbin Team Roles is the language of teams, enabling individuals to be able to project and talk about their behavioural strengths in a productive, safe and non-confrontational way..
Bloomberg - Business, Financial, Economic News, and Stock Quotes from Bloomberg.
Business Ethics - The Magazine of Corporate Responsibility.
Business Balls - A free ethical learning and development resource for people and organizations.
Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) - The professional body for experts in people at work. Setting professional standards for HR and people development, as well as driving positive change in the world of work.
Great Idea Finder - Celebrating the Spirit of Innovation.
Investopedia - Educating the world about finance.
Khan Academy - Provides a free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere. Resource that can help with basic Maths, Economics, Statistics, and Probability.
Mind Mapping - Tony Buzan - A Mind Map is a powerful graphic technique which provides a universal key to unlock the potential of the brain. It harnesses the full range of cortical skills – word, image, number, logic, rhythm, colour and spatial awareness – in a single, uniquely powerful manner.
Open Data Insitute, The - The Open Data Institute works with companies and governments to build an open, trustworthy data ecosystem, where people can make better decisions using data and manage its harmful impacts.
Stats Make Me Cry - Stats Make Me Cry is a place to get help and find answers. The blog and video tutorials (SPSS and R) strive to provide easy-to-understand answers to your stats questions.
Sustainable Business - Sustainability news, networking and jobs for green business.
TED - TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks. TED is a global community, welcoming people from every discipline and culture who seek a deeper understanding of the world.
UK Data Service - Provides users with seamless and flexible access to a wide range of data resources to facilitate high quality social and economic research and education
The World Bank DataBank - An analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
World Trade Organisation - The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.