Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful sociology databases
These databases allow you to search for material including articles, conference proceedings and books. Some, but not all, databases provide links to the full text of articles, where the university has a subscription to that title.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Subject Scope: Anthropology, Economics, Politics, Sociology, Development Studies, Gender and Sexuality, Human Geography and Environment, Development Studies, Business and Management, Social Policy, Health, Education, International relations, Media and communication, Psychology, History, Law and Philosophy.
CIAO This link opens in a new window Description: A wide range of scholarship including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Subject Scope: Theory and research in international affairs
Full Text: Yes
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Description: Newspaper database
Subject Scope: Local and national UK newspapers
Date Range: ~1986 onwards
Full Text: Yes
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Not full text
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Subject Scope: Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine.
Full Text: Full text availability to a large number of Sage journals.
Social Care Online (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. Social Care Online is a portal to a collection of information on social work, social care and aspects of mental health. It contains research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles and websites. Updated by SCIE (Social Care Institute for Excellence)
Subject Scope: Social Work, Social Care, Mental Health, Child Protection, Elderly Care.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Subject Scope: Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Use these databases to search for print or broadcast media. May be useful for assignments and dissertations using content analysis
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) This link opens in a new window
The first time you use this you will have to sign in with your Middlesex email address.
Description: BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service we subscribe to. BoB enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A global database of the world's most important and popular newspapers and trade journals
Library Search: Finding journal articles
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
JustisOne, now vLexJustis This link opens in a new window JustisOne has changed to vLexJustis from 1st June 2021. If you still wish to use JustisOne, you can use this link:
This access will be withdrawn soon, given the move to the new product. Please update your links.
Heinonline - Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window Description: Database of law and law-related issues including articles, comments, notes,book reviews,cases and decisions. Covers more than 90 subject areas published in 29 countries. Also an image-based database providing exact page images as they originally appear in hardcopy
Subject Scope: Legal journals and pre 1865 case reports(The English Reports)
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window Description: Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe , the United States and many jurisdictions. Also includes commentary, notes ,current awareness and Halsbury's Laws of England.
Date Range: UK case law since 1865. Journal coverage varies depending on publishers. US case law(State and Federal)-dates vary. Large collection of full text US law reviews/journals-again dates vary.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Description: Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe , the United States and many jurisdictions. Also includes commentary, notes and current awareness.
Subject Scope: Legal journals, cases, legislation, commentary and current awareness.
Date Range: UK cases begin with 1865 and EU cases 1954. UK case law Official Transcripts begin with 1955. Commentary is the current edition.