My Subject: Computer Engineering and Informatics: Finding Journals, Newspapers and Databases

Journals

Computer journal title

To get good marks you need to back up your arguments with evidence from academic information source.

Journals should be key information sources for your essays, dissertations or research projects. Our journal collection is online, easy to browse, search and access using the library's search tool, Library Search.

But what's a journal?

Journals are specialist publications, containing short, in-depth articles which describe or report on new research. Journal articles go into detail on very specific subject areas.

Journals are a great source of current information as like magazines, they’re produced on a continual basis. As journals are published more quickly and more often than books, they can give more up-to-date information.

To check if we have access to a journal title consult the Journal Title Search.

Journals related to Computer Engineering and Informatics

To check if we have access to a journal title consult the Electronic Journals List.

Need articles? Start at Library Search. Details of all Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed, magazine, newspaper articles that are held within the Middlesex University collection can be access via the universal Library Search.

To browse for articles:

Put relevant keywords into the Library Search query box.
Select 'Articles+' from the boxes drop down menu.
Use left-hand filters to narrow down results
Click on results to see our holdings.

To search for a specific article:

Put in a few words from the article title and the author’s family name
Select 'Article+' from the boxes drop down menu.
Use the filters to refine the results
Click on results to see our holdings.

You can also use the Advanced Search or Journal Title Search to create a more specific search.

Library Search

Middlesex University Dubai Library has thousands of electronic journal articles.

To search within the Dubai articles collection, use the search box below powered by the Middlesex University Library Search:

Library Search

Middlesex University Dubai Library has thousands of electronic newspaper articles.

To search within the Dubai newspaper article collection, use the search box below powered by the Middlesex University Library Search:

You can also search newspaper collections directly through the Library databases:

Media UK Internet Directory: Newspaper Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Radio and television companies. Local and national newspapers. Magazines. Listing include: key staff, editors, ownership, web sites, addresses and telephone numbers.

News from Lexis
(LexisNexis) - Coverage: provides news content from a range of UK national and regional newspapers.
Select Athens log in, type 'Middlesex University'.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
(Proquest) - Coverage: local and regional news from the UK.

Our library databases help us electronically store and manage access to journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, company information, market research, and much more!

Databases work like search engines but better. You can be very precise and search for information using criteria. For example, scholarly articles with the keyword Computer Network Management, from 2014 to 2016.

The highly organised information allows you to get very specific results. Filters make it easy for you to narrow your results down further.

Different databases usually focus on particular subject areas. Listed below are databases relevant to Computing and Engineering.

For Articles, Abstracts, Literature Reviews, Conference Proceedings, Case Studies, Videos, and more...

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage - All areas of computing science. Database of papers published and marketed by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) including journal and newsletter articles, and conference proceedings; plus citations/abstracts to material from other publishers.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Coverage - Design, engineering, health and safety, IT, quality control and management, risk management. A bibliographic, citation and full-text database of more than 50,000 British and adopted European and international standards. Middlesex University has access to a Custom Collection of up to 100 of these standards.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage - Business Source Complete is a largest and most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage - All areas of computing and information science. Searchable database of 750 publications (mostly journals), providing access to the latest information and current trends in high technology including topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage - Subjects covered include advertising, jewellery, metalsmithing, packaging, graphic design, fashion, textiles, design management etc. DAAI is an international index to the contents of design and crafts journals since 1973, and is the only database devoted to this subject area. In addition DAAI also includes other searchable databases: international directories of associations, journals, educational establishments, archives and special collections.
IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)) This link opens in a new window
Coverage - Electrical engineering, computing science and electronics..Access to quality technical literature from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, and IEEE published standards.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Coverage - Includes computer science, artificial intelligence, computer communication networks, software engineering, data encryption, database management, and computation by abstract devices. Searchable database of latest research and teaching in computing science.
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage - All science disciplines including computer science. Provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts and cited references from over 6,650 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. The database is part of Web of Science.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Coverage - Science, technology and medicine. Leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books, plus additional content associated with authors' research including audio and video files, datasets and other supplementary content.

For Market Research, Company Information, Trends, and Statistics

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco Databases) - Coverage: Company Information, market information, and country reports.
Passport This link opens in a new window
(Euromonitor International) - Coverage: Provides reports, analyses, market research and statistics on global markets, consumer trends and companies.
WARC This link opens in a new window
(Warc World Advertising Research Centre) - Coverage: Advertising and Marketing. Access to over 6,000 award-winning case studies, in-depth trend analysis, and research reports. From 1954.