My Subject: Middlesex University Malta Library: Databases

What are Journal Databases?

Journal databases are primarily collections of online journals which allow you to access the contents of journals ie. articles. It can be the entire text (full-text) of articles or abstracts (a brief summary) or citations. Many also contain conference proceedings, research papers, newspapers and standards.

Databases are often subject-specific. Example: The ACM Digital Library is the world’s most comprehensive database of full-text articles and bibliographic literature covering computing and information technology.

The Library subscribes to a large selection of journal databases including several specific to computer science and Business.

Journal databases can usually be searched by subject and more specifically by the author, type of material, article title, publisher, year, language or organisation.

A successful search will provide you with a list of relevant references to articles etc.

Many databases provide full-text articles ie. the full articles can be read online

Access: UniHub > MyUniHub > MyStudy > MyLibrary > Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Description: Database of papers published and marketed by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) including journal and newsletter articles, and conference proceedings; plus citations/abstracts to material from other publishers. Subject Scope: All areas of computing science. Date Range: 60 years of ACM archives Full Text: Yes for ACM publications
IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)) This link opens in a new window Description: Access to quality technical literature from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, and IEEE published standards. Subject Scope: Electrical engineering, computing science and electronics. Date Range: Mainly from 1988 onwards, with some select content published since 1893. Full Text: Yes
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Description: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Offers full text journal articles and abstracts covering aspect of Education
Computer Source This link opens in a new window Description: Searchable database of c750 publications (mostly journals), providing access to the latest information and current trends in high technology including topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Subject Scope: All areas of computing and information science. Date Range: Various dates, but full text information dates as far back as 1985. Full Text: Full-text access to c300 publications. Citation/abstract only for c450 publications.
Emerald This link opens in a new window Description: Emerald offers access to journal articles in the fields of Business, Economics, Management, Marketing, Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window Description: Searchable database of latest research and teaching in computing science. Subject Scope: Includes computer science, artificial intelligence, computer communication networks, software engineering, data encryption, database management, and computation by abstract devices. Date Range: 1973 - Full Text: Yes.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window Description: Provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts and cited references from over 6,650 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. The database is part of Web of Science. Subject Scope: All science disciplines - including biosciences, computer science, medicine, pharmacology, psychiatry and veterinary science. Date Range: 1970 - present
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window Middlesex University has access to a Custom Collection of up to 300 British Standards. Please contact the Science & Technology librarians (SATLibrarian@mdx.ac.uk) to request full-text access to Standards not currently in our subscription.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Description: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts.

As a Middlesex University student or member of staff, you have free access to this valuable resource, with which you can learn new business, technology and creative skills to achieve your personal and professional goals. Use your subscription to this website to develop, supplement and enhance your learning and/or professional career at Middlesex University.

LinkedIn Learning

Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:

• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here: https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning

Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.