A reading list contains books, journal articles, websites, reports etc. Your lecturer will usually recommend a list of core and recommended items for you to read for each module that you are enrolled on or to support your research. You should be able to find most of these items in the Library by using the Library Catalogue. You can also access your reading lists online. See: Online Reading Lists.
Located at the entrance to The Sheppard Library, staff here will help you with issues regarding access to the library and give directions.
Books or journal articles, that have been recommended by your tutor to read. Recommended texts are usually listed in your module handbook.
A book that can not be borrowed from library.
This is an alphabetical list of information sources such as books and journal articles which you have referred to in your assignment (eg. essay, dissertation etc) and is usually added at the end of your work. The reference list only includes sources cited in the text of your assignment. See: Referencing and citation. See: Citing. See: References. See also: Bibliography.
A reference is the detail of an item (book, journal article, website etc) that you have used in your work. References usually contain details of the author, title, publisher, place and date of publication, pages etc. References are usually contained in a 'Reference list' at the end of your work. See: Referencing and Citation. See: Reference list.
Referencing and citation
Referencing and citation is the process by which you acknowledge the sources (eg. books, journal articles, reports, websites etc) from which you have obtained your information when writing an essay/dissertation. This allows the reader to locate the information used and to check, if necessary, the evidence on which your discussion or argument is based. By doing this you can avoid plagiarism.
A bibliographic management software which helps you manage, organise and use your citations and references. Access it through myUniHub > My Study > My Library > Databases > R
Is a service that allows you to extend the loan period of an item that you have borrowed. Most items can be renewed unless it has been requested by another person. You can renew your items online by using the My Account/Renewals feature on the library catalogue, or by using the self-service machines.
A feature in the library catalogue which enables you to ask for a item to be reserved for you. If you find an item you want to borrow from the library catalogue click on the Request button. You will then receive an email informing you when the item is ready for you to collect.
An article which is published in an academic journal that contains original research (also called 'academic paper' or 'scholarly paper')
An online "open access" archive of published research and other scholarly content produced by Middlesex University staff and researchers.
Is an item that has been requested. See: Request
Resources refers to books, journals, collections, DVDs, equipment, etc. held in the library.
This is when you bring back the items that you have borrowed to the library. Books can be returned using our book return machine on the ground floor. Items borrowed from our Special Collections can be returned to the Materials Room in the Basement during term-time or a UniHelp in the vacation.
These members of staff can be seen around the building and will help you with your general enquiries.