Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Integrative Medicine: Using Law Resources to Support Professional Practice: How to Search for Journal Articles using the Law Databases

Reminder: Please Log into My Unihub before using Electronic Resources

BEFORE LOGGING INTO ONLINE RESOURCES Log into My Unihub - go to My Study - Use the links in the My Library box

A guide to using law databases alongside your usual databases to find journal articles

This information should be particularly useful for students doing the CMH3110 summative assessment 2500 word essay on law and ethics (2500 word essay due 5th May 2015 by 4pm).

Lectures during your module will discuss relevant ideas and terminology e.g informed consent.

You will also have references to examples from case law e.g ¬óChester v Afshar (2004).

You will need to refer to a variety of material in your essay. These law databases provide full text of case law and journal articles from law journals. You may additionally use the usual health related databases for extra articles and material, but the law databases will be a crucial resource during this module.

On this page you will find:

  • Links to useful law databases
  • How to search for journal articles using the Law Databases

Other related information and where to find it:

 

Useful law databases for journal articles:

Searching for Journal Articles

You could use a case title to search for articles referring to it e.g Chester V Afshar, or keywords e.g Informed consent.

Using additional keywords may narrow the search to make is more precise and focussed. eg. Informed consent and health

 

From the default search screen, click on Journals

I am going to search for Informed consent and health, typing the keywords in the Search terms box, and clicking on Search.

This will search for articles that use the exact phrase Informed consent AND the keyword health.

From the results screen use the available options to narrow your results down - these are listed on the left-hand side. Use the Journals button to limit to Journal articles. You may use the Narrow by topics list to limit further:

 

To get to the full text of a result:

Click on  and then 

or:

Click on and then to go to download, print and email options

 

 

This example uses the topic of informed consent.

From the default search look at the toolbar and click on

Underneath the search boxes, look for

From the list underneath click on

Using the Free Text Search box, enter "informed consent" and click the Search button:

Putting quotation marks around the keywords ensures Westlaw searches for the words together as an exact phrase e.g "informed consent"

All results will all offer you the full text.

Use the options on the left-hand side of the results screen to limit your results further

 

Clicking on the Full Text Article link will take you to the full text.

 

In the default search screen, type your search terms and click on the button to search:

 

Use the limits on the left hand side of the results screen (underneath Refine Your Search), to further limit your results to articles, by date, country of publication, subject area etc.

 

Click on the symbol (right hand side of screen) to download the full text of the article.