Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Complementary Health
What is on this page:
- REMINDER: BEFORE logging into electronic Resources - log into My Unihub
- Links to Databases for Complementary Health - to search for items within the subject specific databases
You will not always have access to the full text of resources you find during your database searching.
This page also shows you how to:
- Check online/print availability using Library Search
- Order items through the InterLibrary Loan Service
Other related information and where it is:
- For information and advice on how to identify useful keywords, put together a search strategy and combine keywords go to the Finding Journal Articles and Literature Searching page
- For online video tutorials and helpsheets showing you how to use specific databases, use the drop down menu underneath the Finding Journal Articles/Literature Searching tab.
Please read this BEFORE logging into the electronic resources
Make sure you use the following route to access the resources, so you are fully authenticated as a Middlesex University student. This should ensure the resources allow you access where we have a subscription: Login to MyUniHub > My Study > My Library > click on a link in the My Library box
Databases and Resources
Two user friendly searches for the less experienced searcher:
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Description: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Library Search (Hendon) This link opens in a new window
Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.
It replaces Summon and the Library Catalogue.
Two databases, which are on the EBSCOhost portal, for the more experienced searcher:
Medline This link opens in a new window
Good for finding articles from the whole range of medical literature. Covers more than 4800 journals.
CINAHL is the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index
(See individual databases for more information)
Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Full Text: No
Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. The Cochrane Library (UK access) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for finding Systematic Reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) is a search engine covering freely available versions of research from around the world.
Another resource that may be useful for finding open access articles.