Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online help with databases
Cochrane Library web tutorials
Two short free web tutorials on using the Cochrane Library:
Google Scholar Search Box
Did you know you can use Google Scholar to link to our electronic journals? On campus, you will see articles with a Full-text@Middlesex link on the right. Click these links to access the full text journal the Library pays for.
Off campus you will need to set this up the first time. Click on the Settings icon in the top right corner and select 'Library Links' from the menu on the left. Search for and select Middlesex University. Click Save. This will be remembered for future visits.
You may be asked to login to verify you are entitled to view the things you find. Your login is your usual Middlesex Username and Password, which you would use to login to a PC when on campus.
The following databases can be used to make a comprehensive search of the Biomedical Science literature
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles found in PubMed Central or at publisher websites.
The US National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier database for biomedical literature (including sports medicine and psychology). Link to NLM's factsheet on MEDLINE at: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/medline.html
Proquest Natural Sciences Collection
Provides full-text access to literature in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospherics, biology, geology, earth science, and environmental science. Sources include scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, reports, books, conference proceedings and news.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection provides access to over 1500 scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals from Elsevier Science and other publishers. Search over 40 million abstracts from scientific articles. Link out to articles from over 80 other publishers.
Provides free access to the ‘Cochrane Reviews’, which bring together research on the effects of health care and are considered to be the ‘gold standard’ for determining the relative effectiveness of different health interventions).
IEEE Xplore - Full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Web of Science (inc. Science Citation Index)
Science Citation Index provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from approximately 5,900 of the world’s leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Useful full-text resources
The following resources are very useful for finding full text online journal articles:
OVID Full Text Journals Description: Over 200 journals in nursing, psychology, clinical medicine, allied health and biomedical sciences. To search these journals, choose 'Ovid Full Text journals' from the 'Select Resources' page.
Subject Scope: Nursing, psychology, clinical medicine, allied health, biomedical sciences.
Date Range: Varies depending on individual journal
Full Text: Yes
Searching for journal articles
Found a great article but we don't have access to it?
Don't worry...submit an Inter-Library Loan request and we will try and obtain it for you from another library for a small charge.