My Subject: Film: Journals & Literature Searching

Film Journals A - N

Journals are good sources of material for up to date articles on particular themes, new developments and theory and also for film reviews.

Film Journals O - V

Finding journal articles in databases

Databases are collections of publications such as journal articles. They are current and contain the latest research on a topic.
Full-text databases provide direct access to the complete article.
Library Search searches all the databases we subscribe to at Middlesex University.
You can search the databases separately if you wish, details of relevant resources for film, television and visual effects are below:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full text, scholarly articles covering the fields of computing and information technology, including graphics, visualization, gaming, CGI, social networks, computer-human interaction, 3D modeling, and much more
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Historical and contemporary fine art, including some film and video
Bloomsbury Screen Studies This link opens in a new window This is a key digital resource to support moving image studies, providing a broad range of content including e-books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources covering film history, theory and practice. Collections included are: BFI Film Classics, BFI Film Studies, Bloomsbury & Faber Screenplays & Criticism, Filmmaking.
FIAF International Index to film periodicals This link opens in a new window Coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography and reviews
Film Index International This link opens in a new window A key information resource for entertainment films and personalities (actors, directors, producers, cinematographers etc.) produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window Description: A key information resource for entertainment films and personalities (actors, directors, producers, cinematographers etc.) produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. International coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries. The Index also includes reviews and articles about films and personalities. Subject Scope: Comprehensive basic information on all aspects of the film industry Date Range: 1900 -
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Database of full-text articles from a range of global newspapers. Updated every 24 hours. Does not include images. Useful for film reviews
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Subject Scope: Language and literature, mathematics, statistics, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
Paley Center Seminars This link opens in a new window An online video archive of the acclaimed seminar series held by The Paley Center for Media (formerly The Museum of Television & Radio) in New York and Los Angeles
Proquest One Literature This link opens in a new window A database for literary research incorporating all of Literature Online (LION), 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works including rare and hard to find texts, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos including theatre performances, and 20,000 ebooks.

Finding Resources

Use Library Search to find articles, books, reports, DVDs, CDs and more.

Use Cite them right for Harvard referencing. Here is a link to a 'sample text and reference list using the Harvard style'.

Use your online reading list.

Television Journals

Problems accessing our electronic resources

Sometimes you may experience problems accessing our electronic resources.

Have a look at our troubleshooting guide for help.

Accessing electronic resources

Newspapers from Global Newsstream

Global Newsstream allows you to search and access the full text of the main UK newspapers (Financial Times, Times, Guardian, Telegraph etc), and some European, Asian, Middle Eastern, US, Latin American and Austrialian newspapers.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window The first time that you access FT.com using this link you will be asked to register - Please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).