Library Search (Hendon)This link opens in a new windowUse Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.
It replaces Summon and the Library Catalogue.
Google Scholar (Open Access Resource)This link opens in a new windowOpen Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses and books, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTORMiddlesex subscribes to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences digital library which contains thousands of scholarly articles from acdemic journals.
Fashion / Trends
SubCulture ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowClick “Log in via your University or Institution”,
Scroll to “Middlesex University” and click the Select button,
This displays the Middlesex University Sign In page where users sign in with their IT User ID and password.
An educational & cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime.
The Fashion and Race DatabaseThis link opens in a new window'The Fashion and Race Database is an online platform filled with tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge mis-representation within the fashion system. Est. 2017'.
Vogue ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowDescription: The (US) Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present reproduced in high-colour page images. The latest issue will be added each month.
Subject Scope: Fashion, fashion history, fashion marketing, fashion photography, beauty industry, advertising, illustration, popular culture.
Date Range: 1892- present
Full Text: Yes (images and text)
WGSN FashionThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Worth Global Style Network Fashion provides forward trend analysis and creative intelligence for designers and fashion professionals. It provides 24/7 access to future fashion, apparel and fabric trends, colour palettes, international fashion news and trade show reports.
Subject Scope: Fashion, textiles, marketing, trends, forecasting, fashion news, trade shows
Date Range: Current
WGSN InteriorsThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Worth Global Style Network Interiors is an online trend forecasting and product design tool for the industrial design, home and interiors market across 16 product categories, including furniture, lighting, textiles, interiors, garden design
Subject Scope: Interiors, product design, packaging, textiles, marketing, trends, forecasting, business strategy, trade news, trade shows
Date Range: Current
Fashion MonitorThis link opens in a new windowThe first time that you access Fashion Monitor using this link you will be asked to register - Please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).
Le BookThis link opens in a new windowLe Book is a directory of fashion industry contacts, including studios, photography agencies, PR companies.
Newspapers
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
FT.comThis link opens in a new windowThe first time that you access FT.com using this link you will be asked to register - Please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).
Lexis+This link opens in a new windowDescription: Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe , the United States and many jurisdictions. Also includes commentary, notes ,current awareness and Halsbury's Laws of England.
Date Range: UK case law since 1865. Journal coverage varies depending on publishers. US case law(State and Federal)-dates vary. Large collection of full text US law reviews/journals-again dates vary.
eBooks
Berg Fashion LibraryAmazing fashion resource includes eBooks, academic articles, a fashion exhibition archive, museum images and directory.
Bloomsbury Architectural LibraryThis is a key digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism and interior design. It gives access to a wide-range of texts and images from historical to contemporary material.
Bloomsbury Design LibraryProvides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide from 1500BC to the present day.
Proquest eBooks CentralThis link opens in a new windowA collection of library licenced eBooks
Films, TV and Radio
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowFilms online via the Kanopy streaming service. Content includes: Popular documentaries, Oscar winners and nominees, classic films, short films and independent films.
BoB (Box of Broadcasts)This link opens in a new windowThe first time you use this you will have to sign in with your Middlesex email address.
Description: BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service we subscribe to. BoB enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.
The Alternative Guide to Postgraduate Funding
Alternative Guide to Postgraduate FundingThe Alternative Guide (AGO) is a web resource for current and prospective postgraduate students (any subject, any nationality) who are looking to fund PhD, Masters, and PGCE study in the UK through grants from charities, trusts, and foundations.
