Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Interior Architecture and Interior Design: Eco-friendly, Recycled & Sustainable Materials

Examples of eco-friendly, sustainable and recycled materials from our Product Samples Collection

The effects of global warming, deforestation and resource depletion have encouraged many designers and manufacturers to create new and innovative materials. They have recognised the need to move to a circular economy, meaning that waste is not waste, but a resource to be recycled. 

This page brings together some of the new and interesting materials in our Product Samples Collection that have been made from a range of resources including cups made from coffee grounds, wall tiles made from mushroom material, recycled denim used to create thermal insulation and recycled glass/plastic bottles.

You can find further information on eco-friendly, sustainable and recycled materials in the ebooks listed under E-Books:Materials.

NEW Planq textile veneers

Image of Planq textiles

Planq veneer is made of textile waste, such as old denim, army clothing, suits and white denim. But also from biobased fibres, such as flax, hemp, and jute coffee bags. The fibres are first shredded into small pieces, which will then be carded into felt. The felt is eventually pressed with a biodegradable binder made of potato or corn starch into a hard veneer.  The veneers can be used as a surface material and also in furniture design.

 

NEW - Plasticiet

 

Image of Plasticiet

Surface material made from discarded plastics including old refrigerators and chocolate factory moulds.

NEW Encaustic Tiles

Image of Encaustic Tiles

Aqua vitrified ceramic tiles made from >70% recycled materials. Blocks of clay are marbled together by hand, sliced and flattened in a 60 tonne hydraulic press. Suitable for interior and exterior use on floors and walls.

NEW - Colourform packaging

Image of Colourform products

Colourform is made using 100% renewable, natural wood fibres from well-managed forests or high quality recycled content, which gives new life to post-consumer waste including used coffee cups.

 

Mycelium (Mushroom) Material

Image of Mushroom material

Products by Krown.bio are made of mycelium and agricultural waste, Mycelium is the network of mushroom roots. Mycelium acts as a natural glue that can bind a biomass together and it can be used in many different applications from lampshades, textiles and packaging to building materials.

Richlite

Richlite is a sustainable material made from resin-infused paper and can be used as a surface material in many areas of architecture & design.

 

Trend terrazzo glass

Image of Terrazzo Glass

Trend terrazzo is a material made from recycled glass, granite, quartz, quartzite and pre-consumer porcelain and it is suitable for floors, walls and countertops.

Innotherm

Image of Innotherm

Inno-Therm insulation is made of natural fibres from the recycling of cotton and denim materials. It contains no harmful or toxic chemicals and is suitable for loft and wall insulation.

Greencast

Image of Greencast

Greencast is a cast acrylic made from 100% recycled pre- and post-consumer acrylic. Suitable for secondary windows, glazing, showcases, displays, protective covers and furniture.

Wood wool

Image of Wood wool

Baux Wood wool acoustic products are produced from wood wool made from sustainably managed FSC and PEFC marked forests, cement, and water.

 

De Vorm Felt

Image of DeVorm samples

DeVorm produce PET Felt from recycled plastic which can be used in furnishing and acoustic insulation.

Natural fibres

Image of natural fibres

Natural fibre flooring including Tatami (soft rush straw),Coir (Coconut fibre), Seagrass and Sisal are eco-friendly alternatives to plastic flooring.

NEW Alulife - recyclable aluminium

Image of Alulife

Alulife is a textured 100% recyclable aluminium and is suitable for floors, furniture, indoor coverings and external cladding,

NEW - Forbo Marmoleum Flooring

Image of Marmoleum Flooring

Marmoleum Forbo's linoleum floor covering is made from 97% natural raw materials, 70% of which are rapidly renewable, along with a 43% recycled content. Marmoleum Decibel is an acoustic flooring that also provides the highest impact sound reduction of 18 dB.

NEW - Camira fabrics

Image of Camira fabrics

Oceanic and Quest fabrics form the SEAQUAL Collection - have been created to combat marine plastic pollution and achieve a waste free environment.  Woven entirely from recycled plastic debris discarded in the sea..

PaperStone

PaperStone is composed of stacked layers of recycled paper that are then saturated with a pigmented resin derived from cashew shells. It contains no chemical components derived from petroleum and can be used in industrial, commercial and domestic environments.

Smile Plastics

Image of Smile Plastics

Smile Plastics create materials from HDPE,PET, HIPS, paper, textiles and organic materials like tea, spices and coffee grounds. Their plastics have a wide range of applications from small-scale products and furniture to large-scale commercial interiors. The materials are suited to areas that get wet as they are completely waterproof, rot resistant and resistant to most stains.

Thermafleece

Image of Thermafleece

Thermafleece is a natural fibre insulation that combines natural sheep's wool and recycled fibres.

Glasio

Image of Glasio

Glasio is a porous material formed of thermally bonded particles of bohemian crystal glass. Glasio has high acoustic properties and can be used in theatres, auditoriums, lecture halls, classrooms and in other indoor spaces.

Sustainable Materials

Image of Bamboo and Cork

Bamboo, Cork and reclaimed wood are eco-friendly alternatives to hardwoods. Cocomosaic wall tiles obtained from coconut shells either collected by local people or obtained as the waste products from the processing of coconut flesh and coconut milk.

EKOPLY

Image of EKOPLY

EKOPLY is a rot proof, sustainable, eco-friendly and cost effective alternative to non-renewable materials such as timber and plywood.The sheeting is manufactured from 100% waste plastic.

Viroc

Image of Viroc

Viroc is a cement bonded particle board that does not contain silica, asbestos or formaldehyde, making it a non-toxic and eco-friendly material. Ideal for both outdoor and indoor use, it can be used for flooring, partition walls, roof structures and ceilings.

Envirobuild

Image of Envirobuild decking

Envirobuild makes decking and lumber from recycled woods and plastics. Their range of products are manufactured from up to 100% recycled content. Their composite decking is made from recycled plastic and timber off-cuts.

Cross Laminated Timber

Image of Cross Laminated Timber

Cross Laminated Timber (CLT) is made from spruce that is sourced from sustainably managed forests. It is stacked in layers that are arranged perpendicular to each other and then bonded under high pressure using formaldehyde free adhesives to form large-format structural building components that can be used as wall, floor and roof panels.

NEW Wonderwall - wood cladding

Image of Wonderwall wood panels

Wonderwall cladding is created from mixed salvage, which means anything left behind or found on the factory or forest floor.
It includes telegraph poles, girders, railroad sleepers, root wood, off-cuts, overstock and production surplus.

NEW - Hemp blocks

Image of hemp blocks

Hemp blocks are made of hemp shiv and hydrated lime. Hemp shiv is the chopped up woody stalk of the industrial hemp plant and is the waste from the hemp fibre industry. Hemp blocks have thermal and acoustic properties and are a 100% natural alternative construction material.

NEW - Magna Glaskeramik

Image of glass material

Glaskeramik is made entirely out of recycled industrial waste glass and can be used as a surface material.

Foresso

Image of Foresso

Foresso is a made from offcuts, planing waste and wood dust and contains no VOCs or formaldehyde. It has a 'terrazzo' design and can be used as a surface material or as flooring.

Marmax

Image of Marmax

Marmax produce boxes and picnic benches; all made from 100% recycled plastic in a variety of colours. One bench uses more than the equivalent of 2000 plastic bottles.

Buxkin

Image of Buxkin

Buxkin use recycled leather from the shoe industry and wool felt to create a material that can be used for wall and floor covering.

Lumicor

Image of Lumicor

Lumicor's recycled glass panels are embedded with glass aggregate that is 98%-100% recycled post-industrial content or post-consumer content. Each panel contains glass aggregate that comes from crushed bottles, plates, windows, and other recycled glass products.

Viska

Image of Viska

Viska is an acoustic insulation product made from recycled PET including plastic bottles and containers.

Alusid

Image of Alusid

Alusid products are made from a material created from recycled glass and ceramics, containing no resins, cements or chemical bonding agents. The tiles and solid surface materials can be used on interior walls and surfaces.

 

Alusion

Image of Alusion

Alusion is made of 20% to 100% recycled content, and is 100% recyclable. Made by injecting air into molten aluminum.  It can be used as a feature wall in retail stores, hotels, private and public buildings or as the entire exterior of a building.

Woodio

Image of Woodio panels

Woodio material is a 100% waterproof solid wood composite material with a minimal carbon footprint. Core material locally sourced aspen combined with resin-based adhesives.

 

Good Plastic Company

Image of plastic samples

The Good Plastic Company produce recycled plastic sheets.Each panel is made from a single type of plastic so it can be easily recycled, extending its use indefinitely.

 

NEW Solid textile board

Image of solid textile board

Solid textile board is a high-density material made from end-of-life textiles and cut offs from Kvadrat. The board is made up of cotton and wool as these textiles are typically downgraded in existing recycling processes.

 

NEW - Malai material

Image of Malai textiles

Malai is a flexible, biocomposite material made from organic bacterial cellulose, grown on agricultural waste sourced from the coconut industry in Southern India. The material has a feel comparable to leather or paper. It is water resistant and certified vegan.

NEW Honext panel and cladding material

Image of Honext material

Honext is a natural recyclable product made from paper waste. Useful for sound and thermal insulation it can be used as cladding or partitioning.

NEW - Greencoat Steel coatings

Image of Greencoat metals

GreenCoat is a sustainable color coated steel used in sustainable architecture and features a bio-based coating which uses a substantial portion of Swedish rapeseed oil instead of traditional fossil fuel oils.

Metis Seagrass

Image of Metis Seagrass

Metis Seagrass is made of the seagrass Posidonia Oceanica and environmentally friendly eco binders.The material can be used as wall covering or veneers and could be applied in exterior and interior spaces such as office spaces, restaurants and hotels.

Kaffeform

Image of Kaffeform coffee cup

Kaffeform use recycled coffee grounds and renewable raw materials to create a durable and robust material which has been used to make Kaffeeform cups.

CocoForm

Image of Cocoform egg box

This tray and egg box are made from CocoForm; a natural, sustainable, alternative to mainstream packaging that can be made into any shape. CocoForm is made from coconut fibres and natural latex. The fibre is collected from the coconut husk, a resource that is widely available and easily compostable.

Pinatex

Image of Pinatex

Pinatex is made from pineapple fibres and can be used in window and exhibition display.

Fish Leather

Image of fish leather

Leather produced by the Icelandic tannery Atlantic Leather. The fish leather is a bi-product of the fishing industry. Salmon, perch, wolffish and cod are transformed into leather which can be used for anything from handbags to upholstery or wall panels.

Creafoam

Image of Creafoam

Creafoam created from pressed recycled PE coloured foam sheeting.

James Cropper

Image of Papers

The papermakers James Cropper have recycled more than 40 million used coffee cups to produce a range of paper products.

Durat

Image of Durat

Durat is a colourful solid surface material made with recycled post-industrial plastics that can be used to create seamless surfaces in interior applications.

EFTE Plastic

Image of EFTE

Ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (ETFE) is a fluorine-based plastic used to create a clear or coloured architectural membrane. It is 100% recyclable. EFTE was used to create the transparent window coverings at the Eden Project (Cornwall).