Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Interior Architecture and Interior Design: Databases

Databases: Finding Information

It's important to use a wide range of resources when you are researching for your studio projects or essays.You may need to use journal articles, newspapers, film documentaries, and actual objects and artefacts too.These databases may be useful for finding information for your research whether it's visual or text-based. Below are a few which are especially good for art and design subjects, but there are more available from My UniHub.

New Resources!

We have recently subscribed to some exciting new resources, to enhance our online provision in the visual arts. These are packages from the publisher Bloomsbury and include eBooks, cutting-edge articles from leading design writers and a wealth of visual material including high quality images.

Subject Databases

Image of Ebsco   

Art Full Text  

Historical and contemporary fine art, some applied arts and design.

Some material is available in full-text. Click on Ebsco Databases at the top of the list

Image of ArtBibliographies Modern

ArtBibliographies
Modern

Mainly 20th/21st century coverage of fine art including design.

Image of Design and Applied Arts Index

Design & Applied
Arts Index

Covers all aspects of design, applied arts and crafts. There are links to some
full-text material.

Image of Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities
Citation Index

Scholarly coverage of arts and humanities subjects including some design.
     

Generic Databases

Image of Library Search             

Library Search enables you to search library resources simultaneously.
Find books, articles, reports, DVDs, CDs and more.

Click here for
Library Search    
          

Image of Kanopy

Kanopy is an online streaming service for film and documentaries. More information on Kanopy can be found here.

Click here
for Kanopy

Image of BoB

BoB lets you access TV or radio programmes. Set up an account
the first time you log in to access.

Click here
for Box of Broadcasts

Image of Global Newstream

Global Newsstream allows you to search across national and
international newspapers

Click here for
Global
Newsstream

Professional data/image databases

Image of WGSN

 

WGSN

Lifestyle & Interiors

 

 

An online trend forecasting and product design tool for the industrial design home and interiors markets across 16 product categories, including furniture, lighting, textiles.

 

Image of Linkedin Learning

     

   Linkedin Learning

An amazing library of over 40,000 online tutorials and documentaries, covering software such as Photoshop, Adobe, Microsoft Office, SketchUp & InDesign, plus expert advice on effective presentations, digital photography, blogs and much more.

 

Professional maps database

Digimap  Ordnance Survey Map Data available to download. Users can view or print maps of any location in Great Britain.