It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Australian College of Business & Technology (Franchise): Home
Colombo, Kandy and Galle sites
Welcome to Middlesex University’s Sheppard Library and to your Australian College of Business & Technology resources at Middlesex University.
Use this guide to find out about the resources available to you from Middlesex University and how you can access them.
BA (Hons) Business Management (Marketing) Top up (31/10/2025)
BA (Hons) Business Management (Finance) (31/10/2025)
BA (Hons) International Business Administration (31/10/2025)
BSc (Hons) Informational Technology (31/10/2025)
BSc (Hons) Business Information Systems (31/10/2025)
Resources provided by Middlesex University Library
The resources you need for your course are listed below:
ACM Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Database of papers published and marketed by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) including journal and newsletter articles, and conference proceedings; plus citations/abstracts to material from other publishers.
Subject Scope: All areas of computing science.
Date Range: 60 years of ACM archives
Full Text: Yes for ACM publications
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
Capital IQ ProThis link opens in a new windowCapital IQ Pro is a new platform that brings together the funtionality of Capital IQ and the Market Intelligence Platform.
First time users, please click on 'New User' and submit your Middlesex University email.
Capital IQ Pro is a financial database that provides easy-to-use tools for financial statement analysis, comparables analysis, financial modeling, sector analysis, and charting, plus high-level overviews of industries, financial markets, and regional economies. Ideal for researching companies (both public and private), deals (M&A and security issuance), and private equity and venture capital deals.
EconomistThis link opens in a new windowA leading magazine providing quality analysis on international business and world affairs.
EmeraldThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Emerald offers access to journal articles in the fields of Business, Economics, Management,
Marketing, Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management.
FT.comThis link opens in a new windowThe first time that you access FT.com using this link you will be asked to register - Please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
IBISWorldThis link opens in a new windowAn excellent collection of industry research reports
IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL))This link opens in a new windowDescription: Access to quality technical literature from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, and IEEE published standards.
Subject Scope: Electrical engineering, computing science and electronics.
Date Range: Mainly from 1988 onwards, with some select content published since 1893.
Full Text: Yes
LinkedIn LearningThis link opens in a new windowMainland China access ended14th December 2021: We are very sorry that from 14.12.21 access to LinkedIn Learning is no longer be possible from mainland China. This includes access via VPN. Access for partners in Hong Kong will continue.
Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)
Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.
Market Intelligence Platform
This database has been re-packaged and re-named as part of 'Capital IQ Pro'
Please go to 'Capital IQ Pro' in this database list
PassportThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Passport provides key business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It will be useful to students studying a wide range of areas including international business and marketing, economics, social science, travel and tourism, international hospitality management, international relations & environmental health.
Science DirectThis link opens in a new windowDescription: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
WARCThis link opens in a new windowDescription: World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) combines current new thinking and trends with best practice, featuring access to over 6,000 award-winning case studies, in-depth trend analysis, and research reports.
Established in 1985, WARC combines its own content with that of respected industry partners worldwide and provides detailed solutions to real marketing challenges.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index
(See individual databases for more information)
Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Full Text: No
Wiley Online LibraryThis link opens in a new windowSearches articles within journals published by Wiley, covering a range of subjects including Business, Social Sciences and Health Sciences.
Full text availability to over 150 journals published by Wiley.
Login as a Middlesex student
If you haven't already done so, in order to access the library resources provided for you:
Click on the name of your institution to access your resources
Cite Them Right OnlineThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work
Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing
If you require help using this guide or the resources linked to it, then please contact your ACBT librarian. Your librarians are: