You can download statistical analysis software from the Middlesex University download server or link to it as indicated. We have created a LinkedIn Learning Collection of courses to teach you how to use Nvivo, SPSS, Minitab and Momentive (formally SurveyMonkey).
The Maths Help Centre is a space on the first floor of the Hendon Public Library where you can come and work on your maths, stats or numeracy while getting help and advice. Or you can come to Study Help on the 1st Floor of the Sheppard Library between 12-2 on weekdays for a drop-in session.
Details of our availability can be found at: http://maths.mdx.ac.uk/maths-help-centre
This is a joint venture involving the Learning Enhancement Team, Mathematics Department and the Student Learning Assistants.
Learning Enhancement Team (LET): go to Academic Writing and Numeracy on Unihub
Psychological Statistics by
Psychological Statistics: The Basics walks the reader through the core logic of statistical inference and provides a solid grounding in the techniques necessary to understand modern statistical methods in the psychological and behavioral sciences. This book is designed to be a readable account of the role of statistics in the psychological sciences. Rather than providing a comprehensive reference for statistical methods, Psychological Statistics: The Basics gives the reader an introduction to the core procedures of estimation and model comparison, both of which form the cornerstone of statistical inference in psychology and related fields. Instead of relying on statistical recipes, the book gives the reader the big picture and provides a seamless transition to more advanced methods, including Bayesian model comparison. Psychological Statistics: The Basics not only serves as an excellent primer for beginners but it is also the perfect refresher for graduate students, early career psychologists, or anyone else interested in seeing the big picture of statistical inference. Concise and conversational, its highly readable tone will engage any reader who wants to learn the basics of psychological statistics.
Psychology Statistics for Dummies by
The introduction to statistics that psychology students can't afford to be without Understanding statistics is a requirement for obtaining and making the most of a degree in psychology, a fact of life that often takes first year psychology students by surprise. Filled with jargon-free explanations and real-life examples, Psychology Statistics For Dummies makes the often-confusing world of statistics a lot less baffling, and provides you with the step-by-step instructions necessary for carrying out data analysis. Psychology Statistics For Dummies: Serves as an easily accessible supplement to doorstop-sized psychology textbooks Provides psychology students with psychology-specific statistics instruction Includes clear explanations and instruction on performing statistical analysis Teaches students how to analyze their data with SPSS, the most widely used statistical packages among students
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by
The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis.　It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Figshare
Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner
MDX Figshare https://mdx.figshare.com/
Middlesex University Research Repository: Research work by Middlesex University staff and alumni https://eprints.mdx.ac.uk/
Datacite
Datacite DataCite is a leading global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data and other research outputs. Organizations within the research community join DataCite as members to be able to assign DOIs to all their research outputs. This way, their outputs become discoverable and associated metadata is made available to the community.
UK Data Service: https://ukdataservice.ac.uk Trusted access and training to use the UK's largest collection of economic, social and population data for research and teaching. Funded by UK Research and Innovation (UKRI), the Service integrates and builds on investments the Economic and Social Research Council has made in UK research infrastructure for decades, including the UK Data Archive, Economic and Social Data Service, the Secure Data Service, Census Programme and Survey Question Bank
https://ukdataservice.ac.uk/about/key-data-owners-and-collections/
UK Data Archive (for restricted/sensitive social science research): https://data-archive.ac.uk
The University of Essex has been home to the UK Data Archive since 1967 when it began life as the Social Science Research Council Data Bank. The Government Statistical Service began to deposit government surveys with us in the 1970s. In 2005, we became a place of deposit for public records for the National Archive, and in 2012, the lead partner in the UK Data Service.
