Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Psychology: Getting Started

Help with Academic Writing

Paula Bernaschina is the Academic Writing Lecturer for the School of Science and Technology.

Based in the Learning Enhancement Team (LET) in The Sheppard Library, she can help you excel in your academic communication, whether this is in written assignments or oral presentations, as well as using information effectively and ethically in your work.

Contact  p.bernaschina@mdx.ac.uk

You can also book 1-1 tutorials with Paula or sign up for LET workshops (links below).

Summon: University in one resource

Summon is a tool which enables you to search the library catalogue and other resources (e.g journal or newspaper articles, reports) in one simple search.

New Databases!

Psychotherapy.net is a fantastic resource, and is now available to all Middlesex students and staff.  The database contains 50 videos of therapists in action, demonstrating clinical techniques and their work.

You can access the database by clicking the link above, or via MyUnihub, and following the Library databases link to search the full list.


PEPweb is now accessible to Middlesex students. 

PEPweb is a full text database of both recent and historical Psychoanalytic research journals and ebooks, including The Standard Edition of the Complete works of Sigmund Freud (not available online anywhere else).

PSY1011 Rocking Referencing

Here are some of the links we will use in today's session:

  • While we are waiting for people to arrive, please complete the survey at bit.ly/MDXPSY
  • Warm-up activity: go to www.kahoot.it to take part in the recognising sources quiz.
  • What makes a good bibliography?  Add your comments to the online board at http://bit.ly/bibsA-C 
  • Correct the references of Bibliography A by using Cite Them Right to create the correct reference as your guide.  The sources are at this online noteboard. You can post the correct references you create to the board too.
  • Back to Kahoot.it for our final quiz
  • How are you feeling now?  Let me know by completing this form

I will add the slides from the workshop today on Monday 13th February.

PSY1011 workshops week 5

Once you have completed Quiz One, follow this link https://goo.gl/forms/mjx4ul2obnYZATkD2 and answer the question on the survey and keep the tab open.  Then after completing Quiz Two, answer the second question and hit the submit button.

At the end of the session, complete this very short feedback form https://goo.gl/forms/rpRAGtEB9cJehMBy1 

Student Feedback from library workshops

"The library sessions are an absolute must if you want the best for your Literature Search and eventually your Dissertation.

I found them extremely useful because I learned about other searches other than PSYCINFO and Summon, such as Web of Science. It was also useful as the supervision helped me to narrow down my topic in order to find relevant and useful journals.

These sessions have helped immensely because I am now more confident in narrowing down my searches so that I can find the most up to date and relevant material for my coursework."

Adi, 3rd Year Psychology Student and Student Voice Leader. 2015 

If you've missed any of your library workshops and need help please click here.

Library Opening Hours