Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Media: Web Resources

Web Resources: Magazine Publishers

Paley Centre Seminars

Middlesex University subscribes to this database, Paley Center Seminars, A unique video collection of interviews and panel discussions recorded at The Paley Center for Media (locations In New York and Los Angeles)

The seminars feature industry insiders discussing the processes of television production, the impact of media on contemporary society, and much more. Full transcriptions and detailed indexing allow searching for topics, titles or speakers.

Featured Website - British Pathe Newsreels

Web Resources: General & Organisations

Advertising Association
Monitors and reviews developments relevant to the advertising industry; shapes the sector’s self-regulatory systems; and advises policy makers.

Advertising Standards Authority
The UK's independent regulator for advertising across all media.

Audit Bureau of Circulation
UK company certifying circulations of 3000+ magazines and newspapers worldwide

BARB: Broadcaster's Audience Research Board
The organisation responsible for providing the official measurement of UK television audiences.

The Bookseller Daily news and comment about the book business. 

The Booksellers Association A membership organisation for all booksellers in the UK & Ireland.

Brandrepublic 
Hosted by the Chartered Institute of Marketing. Includes examples of Adverts.

Campaign for Press and Broadcasting Freedom An independent voice for media reform, working to promote policies for a diverse, democratic and accountable media

The Chartered Institute of Journalists
The Institute combines the role of professional society with that of a trade union

The Chartered Institute of Public Relations
Provides training and development opportunities for practitioners at all levels.

Committee to Project Journalists Founded in 1981 to defend the rights of journalists around the world. News and information for and about journalists working in dangerous places around the world.

European Journalism Centre
International website, including news and blogs

History of Advertising Trust
A large archive of British advertising. A unique collection that dates from the early 1800s to the present day. It provides examples of the work, the stories behind the names and brands on our High Streets.

Hold the Front Page A resource and forum for the British regional press.

International Federation of Journalists First established in 1926 the IFJ promotes international action to defend press freedom and social justice through strong, free and independent trade unions of journalists.

NUJ
Website of the National Union of Journalists

The Newspaper Society
The NS represents and promotes the interests of Britain's regional and local media.

Ofcom
Independent regulator and competition authority for the communications industry.

Press Complaints Commission
An independent self-regulatory body which deals with complaints about
the editorial content of newspapers and magazines (and their websites)

The Publishers Association The leading trade organisation serving book, journal, audio and electronic publishers in the UK.

Reuters Handbook of Journalism
Online edition of Reuter's Handbook of Journalism.

Women in Journalism
Women in Journalism is a networking, campaigning, training and social organisation for women journalists who work across all the written media, from newspapers and magazines to the new media.

National Association in Press Agencies
Draws membership from premier agencies providing news, pictures and features from every town and city in the UK.

Web Resources: Photojournalism

Web Resources - Advertising

Web Resources: Training

Web Resources: News Sources