Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Special Collections: Special Books

Visionaire

Visionaire is a special fashion publication which is produced four times a year. Each issue is designed, themed and created by a photographer, designer or art director and produced in a limited edition with no advertising.  Formats and styles vary enormously, so the collection offers rich inspiration in ideas, style and presentation.

Visionaire has a website which gives an interactive view of the complete set of issues.

Visionaire is displayed in the Materials Room, which is located in the Basement of the Sheppard Library.

The Materials Room is open from 11am to 4pm Monday to Friday, when specialist help is usually available. 

Special Books Collection

This is a small collection of about 700 books, some of which were inherited by Hornsey College of Art.  The collection includes a variety of historical and contemporary books which for reasons of fragility, age, special format or rarity have been shelved separately. These are kept in the Materials Room and are listed on the library catalogue.

The collection includes artists' books and also the fashion subscription "Visionaire" which are on display in the Materials Room.

Artists' Books

We have an amazing collection of artists' books which are available as reference items in the Materials Room.  The artists' books show many different bindings, materials, ideas and interpretations of "the book"

The Materials Room is located in the Basement of the Sheppard Library, Hendon.