An accessible but in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature. Shows researchers how to justify the need for and significance of research, and explain a study's findings. Presents nearly a hundred online examples and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes case studies in the use of major online databases. Clarifies some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods. Explains the differences between research design validity (internal and external) and measurement validity. Introduces the major formal systems for evaluating the literature's methodological quality. Provides qualitative research examples and how to evaluate their quality. Illustrates how to write up reviews and how others have done it. This text is for graduate students in the social science, health, educational, and business fields.
Step-by-step advice on completing an outstanding research project. Research can be daunting, particularly for first-timers, but this indispensable book provides everything you need to know to prepare for research, draft and finalise a methodologically sound and well-written report or thesis, plus it warns you of potential pitfalls to prevent you wasting time on false trails. Includes: Research ethics. Clear guidelines on the differences between different types of research project. Research diaries. Internet research and the use of electronic resources. Plagiarism. For beginner researchers embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study.
How do I find relevant information for my thesis, dissertation or report? How do I evaluate the relevance and quality of the information I find? How do I find the most up to date information in my subject area? Anyone setting out to research a topic, whether at undergraduate or postgraduate level, needs to find information to inform their work and support their arguments. This book enables researchers to become expert in finding, accessing and evaluating information for dissertations, projects or reports. The book works systematically through the information-seeking process, from planning the search to evaluating and managing the end results. It suggests how to do this efficiently and effectively whilst using a range of sources including online bibliographic databases and the internet.
Written by an academic and a librarian, this book is dedicated to helping students find and use a variety of resources, both print and online. It includes guidance on how to carry out a literature review as well as the skills needed for finding and evaluating information, with advice on referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism.
You can't do research of any kind without doing two things:
1 Finding and organizing relevant information
2 Transforming it into the end product on which your research will be judged and rewarded (or not!)
Yet realistic and detailed guidance on these vital activities is in short supply. The authors' unique design approach shows how the two are related and how they can support each other throughout research.
This book is for students who have learned English as a second (or third, or forth) language and are studying at an institution where English is the medium of instruction. Each of the book's 10 chapters focuses on a reproduced academic article on an aspect of English for academic purposes. Therefore, students can learn about language skills from the articles themselves, as well as develop those skills in the activities and tasks which follow. A companion website features a collection of articles from a variety of different sources related to the topics in each of the book's 10 articles.
This book is unique in bringing together guidance for postgraduate students on how to organise plan and do research from an interdisciplinary perspective. The wide-ranging coverage of the first edition is enhanced by the addition of new chapter on creativity, the use of the web in research, guides to writing, and the use of software packages. Updates are provided on issues relevant to postgraduates in all subjects, from writing a proposal and securing research funds, to data analysis and the presentation of research, through to intellectual property protection and career opportunities.
Studying and Learning at University provides a concise and accessible introduction to the full range of essential study skills and learning approaches for first-time undergraduates. Alan Pritchard focuses on the skills that every student will need to master to achieve success in their academic career. Without being prescriptive, the book recognizes that different learning strategies work for different people.
'As a student with a professional background, rather than an academic one, this book provided all the basic information that my online course seemed to take for granted. The chapters dealing with research protocol, online resources and how to use the web efficiently were like a goldmine and saved hours.' Masters Level Distance Learning Student
This essential guide provides practical help and encouragement for those who have not previously studied at a distance and is ideal for students returning to study after a break. It also covers fundamental issues such as: Motivation, Goal setting, Time management, Coping strategies, Study skills, Conducting research.
This book helps students understand the use of specialist vocabulary and terminology of educational and social science research. The author explores the ways in which research terminology is used, and shows students how to use specialist research terminology appropriately, how to understand the meaning of research terms, and how to disseminate research in a style which is clear and easily understood.
In this new edition of Your Research Project, Nicholas S.R. Walliman has made this bestselling book even better with the addition of a number of new features whilst retaining all the benefits of the original. New features include: more elaboration on the differing needs of masters and PhD students; a new overview of the entire research chronology from start to finish; student checklists throughout; a new chapter on research ethics; new sections on critical reading skills and compiling literature reviews; examples from a wide range of disciplines and a student glossary.