My Subject: Dance: Databases

What are databases?

Databases are collections of publications such as journal articles. They are current and contain the latest research on a topic.
Full-text databases provide direct access to the complete article.
Library Search searches all the databases we subscribe to at Middlesex University.
You can search the databases separately if you wish, details of relevant resources below.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Description: Archive of journals Subject Scope: Language and literature, mathematics, statistics, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Please note: Middlesex University Library does not subscribe to the whole of JSTOR but only to the "Arts & Sciences III" and "Mathematics and Statistics" collections.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window Description: The International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance is a comprehensive research tool, providing a full index, with cross-references and annotations, to over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. In addition, IBTD makes available over 140 full-text journal titles and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Description: Performing Arts Periodicals database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts Full Text) contains more than half a million indexed articles from over 256 performing arts journals. Most index entries include an abstract and an increasing number contain full text of the original article.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window An extensive collection of online journals.

Newspapers from Global Newsstream

Global Newsstream allows you to search and access the full text of the main UK newspapers (Financial Times, Times, Guardian, Telegraph etc), and some European, Asian, Middle Eastern, US, Latin American and Austrialian newspapers.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window The first time that you access FT.com using this link you will be asked to register - Please use your Middlesex email address (@live.mdx.ac.uk or @mdx.ac.uk).

Databases for Dance Science

Sport Discus This link opens in a new window Description: The most comprehensive bibliographic database covering all aspects of sport, fitness and exercise science and medicine. It includes over 1.7 million records covering journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. Over 22,000 dissertations and theses are also included. Part of EBSCO Health Databases so can be cross-searched with other databases such as Medline. Subject Scope: Sport, fitness and exercise.

This database provides full coverage of sports and exercise science.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window

An easy to use database which searches across a large collection of science journals.

Medline This link opens in a new window Good for finding articles from the whole range of medical literature. Covers more than 4800 journals.

The world's largest health sciences database (including sports medicine and physiology).

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Description: PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates. Subject Scope: Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Date Range: 1806 to present

An excellent database for topics which deal with psychological issues for dancers such as confidence, anxiety and self-esteem.

Visible Body - desktop version This link opens in a new window
Visible Body is an online anatomy & physiology learning package containing interactive 3D models and animations. It includes four resources - Human Anatomy Atlas 2021, Physiology & Pathology, Muscle Premium and Anatomy & Physiology.

Available as a desktop resource and free mobile apps. To download the apps, follow the 'Visible Body - mobile apps' link below.