Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Education: Resources for Education

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Subject Guide for Education. This set of web pages will act as your one-stop-shop for all Library resources relating to Education.

 

Key Education Databases

2nd/3rd year and post-graduates use the databases listed below to do a comprehensive search of the Education literature (login to myUniHub if you have not already done so).

The databases below cover other subject areas that you may find useful (plus some education journals)

Tips for searching:

Use keywords for your search, two or three words to get started.

Use synonyms, for example for education, use teaching, schooling, or pedagogy.

Too few results; use more keywords to broaden your search.

Too many results; use fewer keywords to narrow your search.

Spelling, UK or USA - labour/labor, centre/center, organisation/organization. 

 

These databases can usually be searched by subject and name and more specifically by type of material, article title, publisher, year, language or organisation. A successful search will provide you with a list of references to relevant material (articles/papers).

Many of the databases provide an abstract (summary) of the article's content, which gives an indication of its usefulness and relevance. This is in addition to bibliographic details such as author, article title, journal title, issue/volume number and date.

 

Finding Resources

Use Summon to find articles, books, reports, DVDs, CDs and more.  Highly recommended for 1st year students.

Use the Library Catalogue to find books, journal titles, and renew your books.  Main education books start at 370, and ends 379 on the second floor.  Early childhood studies, 305.23 on the first floor. (Library Catalogue Helpsheet)

Use Cite them right for Harvard referencing. Here is a link to a 'sample text and reference list using the Harvard style'.

Use your online reading list.

Use the key databases. Highly recommended for 2nd, 3rd, postgraduate students, and researchers.

If Middlesex does not have an item; do an Inter-library Loan for £3 per item. Recommended for 3rd years, postgraduates, and researchers.  Request Form

Want to watch a video! Have a look at BOB (Box of Broadcast).

To access electronic resources (e-books, e-journals, databases etc) you need to sign into myUniHub.

UniHub > myUniHub > Mystudy > MyLibrary > My Subject.

Teaching Resource Collection

The Teaching Resource Collection at the Sheppard Library, Room SB05, contains a wealth of resources for you to use in your teaching practice. There are five main sections: fiction, non-fiction, dual-language books, poetry, and DVDs.

This type of material is identified with a green classmark label with  prefixed with a 'JF' or a 'T',  e.g. JF KS2 MAS.  (KS2 means Key Stage 2)

Those students studying for a PGCE, or a BA in Primary Education can borrow up to 50 teaching resource items.

Academic Writing

Need help with academic writing! See the Learning Enhancement Team, they hold drop-in sessions Monday to Friday, 12:00-15:00 in the Sheppard Library, on the first floor (during term time).

They can help you excel in your academic communication, whether this is in written assignments or oral presentations, as well as using information effectively and ethically in your work.

Contact:  LET@mdx.ac.uk

You can also book 1-2-1 tutorials with them or sign up for LET workshops (links below).

Selection of New Books/Books On Order

Printed Journals - Sheppard Library - 1st Floor

Printed Journals - Last 5 years

  • Children's Literature
  • Education for tomorrow
  • English 4-11
  • Mathematics in School
  • Oxford Studies in Comparative Education
  • Primary Mathematics
  • School Librarian
  • Special Children
  • Times Higher Education Supplement (last 3 months)

 

Other Libraries

SCONUL

"SCONUL Access - this is a scheme which allows you to borrow printed items from other academic libraries in the UK and Ireland. Click on the link to get further information.

Keeping up to date

The British Library's current awareness service, Zetoc Alert, automatically sends you emails listing the table of contents from particular journals, you can also be sent alerts on articles that match searches for authors names or keywords from article titles. This is particularly useful if you are doing MA and PhD research.