Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Graphic Design, Illustration, Animation & 3D Games, Photography: Databases

Subject Databases

  

Art Full Text  

Historical and contemporary fine art, some applied arts and design. Some material is available in full-text.

ArtBibliographies
Modern

Mainly 20th/21st century coverage of fine art including design.

Design & Applied
Arts Index

Covers all aspects of design, applied arts and crafts. There are links to some
full-text material.

Arts & Humanities
Citation Index

Scholarly coverage of arts and humanities subjects including some design.
Vogue Archive

The (US) Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue Magazine from 1892
to the present, reproduced in high quality page images.
The latest issue is added each month.

Professional/Image Databases

     

Fashion Monitor

 

Fashion Monitor (for 1st time users)

Login in through My UniHub . UK provider of news,events and contacts in the fashion, style and beauty industries.
First time users register here. You'll need to use your Middlesex University email and login to access. An email confirmation will be sent to you.

WGSN Fashion

Provides forward trend analysis and creative intelligence for designers and fashion professionals, Set up your own account by registering with a personal ID and password.

WGSN
Lifestyle & Interiors

An online trend forecasting and product design tool for the industrial design home and interiors markets across 16 product categories, including furniture, lighting, textiles.

LinkedIn Learning

 

Over 40,000 online tutorials and documentaries, covering software such as Photoshop, Adobe, Microsoft Office,etc, plus expert advice on effective presentations, digital photography, blogs and much more.

Databases: Finding Information

It's important to use a wide range of resources when you are researching for your studio projects or essays. You may need to use journal articles, newspapers, film documentaries, and actual objects and artefacts too.

These databases may be useful for finding information for your research whether it's visual or text-based. On this page are a few which are especially good for art and design subjects, but there are more available from My UniHub.

Generic Databases

Box of
Broadcasts
(BOB)

 BoB enables you to record any programme from TV and radio  from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.Set up an account the first time you log in to access.

Library Search    

Library Search enables you to search most library resources simultaneously.
Find books, articles, reports, DVDs, CDs and more.

 

European Newsstream

Newsstream enables you to search a comprehensive range of UK newspapers for full-text articles.