Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Interior Architecture and Interior Design: Web Resources

ARCHITECTURE WEBSITES

aaschool.ac.uk

Architectural Association (AA) School of Architecture. Useful for current events, publications, competitions

archdaily.com

Compiled by architects - good for research, up-to-date projects and architectural products.

archidose

Blog covering exhibitions, projects,books, articles allowing you to join and add content

archiplanet.co.uk

Website for architecture students in the UK. Includes forums, jobs, exhibitions and competitions 

barbourproductsearch.info

Barbour Product Search a "searchable database of products and suppliers, including images, case studies, technical data, catalogues, news and project data".

bustler.net

Bustler, "sister site to the leading architecture platform, Archinect, focuses on keeping the design community busy and inspired. Bustler has become the go-to online publication for competition and event listings in the architecture and design industries."

Contemporist.com

Contemporary interiors architecture and design

designboom.com

"Industrial design today: courses, education, competitions, history and contemporary, shop, interviews, snapshots, design-aerobics"

dezeen.com

An online journal showcasing the best architecture, design and interiors projects from around the world.

greatbuildings.com

Linked to "Architecture week" journal, presenting  1,000 classics of world architecture. Can search by building, architect or place.

Inhabitat.com

A weblog that provides information on new sustainable design and technological practices.

MIMOA

"MIMOA is an online architecture guide. It is the best source of information for your city trip with all Modern Architecture in one view. MIMOA shows Modern Architecture on a map with the address and all additional information you need to actually find and visit interiors, parks, public places, buildings and bridges.

MIMOA is specially designed to take the whole database with you while traveling. You can select projects to create your own personal architecture guide and even browse projects and locations from different mobile devices".

Mocoloco

Mocoloco is a web magazine relating to modern contemporary design and architecture, including; residential architecture, interior design, furniture, accessories, lighting, floorcoverings, wallcoverings, books, websites, audio-video, online & retail stores and more.

mymodernmet

Includes articles on art, design, photography, architecture, technology, environmental issues, as well as inspiring stories and interviews. This website also provides a platform for new designers.

Riba Library Catalogue online

"Open to everyone and without charge, the British Architectural Library and its collections and services form the largest and most comprehensive resource in the United Kingdom for research and information on all aspects of architecture." A guide to using the catalogue can be found at Guide to using online catalogue.
 
 A database that provides images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects.
 
VADS is the online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 12 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
 
A global website covering projects relating to architecture, design, art, and city guides
 
Useful website for international profiles on architects, landscape architects, engineers, interior designers, lighting consultants, and architectural photographers. Also provides reviews and job vacancies.
 

 

MATERIALS WEBSITES

Guide to products & materials including fabrics, furnishings, lighting, wall & floor finishes. Includes manufacturers details.

Institute of Making

The Materials Library is a collection of materials gathered from sheds, labs, grottoes and repositories around the world. It is a resource, laboratory and studio providing hands-on research, events and workshops and is attached to University College London (UCL).

Material Lab

"A place to explore different materials and discover latest trends" Part of Johnson Tiles part provides range of samples and advice and assistance".

Materia

Allows you to search for materials by properties. Can also search by keyword. Registration required – registering is free.

Matweb

A searchable database of over 56000 material data sheets covering plastics, metals, ceramics and composites. Includes details of physical properties.
Rematerialise

Excellent resource for ecosmart materials. Registration is required to search database - but registering is free.

Transmaterial

"Transmaterial online is intended to be a clear, concise, accessible, and carefully edited resource that provides information about the latest and most intriguing materials commercially available".

Web Resources for Design

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar enables you to search for academic material on your specific subject.