Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Interior Architecture and Interior Design: Finding Sample Information

Finding product information

The Applegate Directory

Online product directory for industry, technology and manufacturing in the UK and Ireland including more than 250,000 companies cross-referenced to more than 45,000 products. Includes a number of specialist directories including ‘plastics and rubber.’ Searchable by company name, product and location.

Barbour Product Index (Ascot, Barbour Compendium Team 2006)

Details of over 7,000 manufacturers and suppliers and features. 1,400 product ranges.


Buildings Products Index
UK online database of building materials and suppliers. The site provides details and links to building products, manufacturers and suppliers, and allows the user to search by manufacturer and brand name or product/material. Search results display manufacturer's details and a direct email and information request facility. Site also includes links to other useful sites.

Hafele Online
Hafele UK Ltd is the largest furniture fittings and hardware distribution centre in the UK.

Kompass UK (East Grinstead, Kompass Publications)
Printed directory of over 40,000 products and services, and corporate information on 47,000 UK industrial companies including contact details.

Materia

Materia is a global network in the area of innovative materials

Matweb   Includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

RIBA Product Selector (London, RIBA Services)
Published by the Royal Institute of British Architects. Annual 3 volume guide to product and company information on approx. 7,700 companies, manufacturers and suppliers of building products and services, 1000 advisory organisations etc. Includes 24,000 trade name cross references. Materials Room holds current edition.

Stylepark   For architects and interior designers. Enables you to search for materials and products by material type, application, appearance, finish and properties.

Where to purchase small quantities of wood, plastic, metals for model making

Abplas
Stocks a range of plastics. Will sell small amounts.

Clear Plastic Supplies
One of the largest UK stockists of acrylic tube and rod.

EMA Model Supplies
Primarily for architects and interior designers, but stocks a range of materials available in small quantities

4D Modelshop
Has a shop in Leman Street, a 10 minute walk from Central House and Commercial Rd. Tools, finishes, adhesives and a wide range of materials: card, mesh, paper, plastic, rubber, textiles, wood and much more. Student discount available.

Hindleys
High quality materials for artists and designers, including plastics, foam, timber and metals.

Inventables
Sells innovative and smart materials, including photochromic plastic, rubber glass, impact softening gel, temperature sensitive fabric, glow-in-the-dark glass and many more. Online shop based in the USA.

Modulor
Model-making supplier selling a huge range of materials available in small quantities. Online shop based in Germany.

Mindsets
Materials and smart materials, mechanical and electronic components. Can purchase small quantities.

Theplasticshop.co.uk
The UK's leading online supplier of an enormous range of plastic materials available in rod, sheet, plate and tube. Will sell small quantities.